Camping with Bozz: Food Edition #3

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

IMG_20180805_174541.jpg

As I stated yesterday, when my wife and I go camping, we try to eat similarly to how we would eat at home. Many times in the rush to relax and keep things simple people "phone in" their camping meals.

Don't get me wrong, I like a good old hot dog roasted over the fire as much as the next guy, but there is something about being in one place all day with nowhere to be and no expectations that makes me want to be a little "extra" when it comes to my meals.

Several years ago when we were camping my wife and I decided to try to make calzones on the grill. We figured much like an oven bakes them the grill could do the same thing if we managed the heat and kept them away from the coals.

IMG_20180804_175927.jpg

I have been a big fan of "zone" grilling for a while now. Having different areas of the grill that are different temperatures gives you the ability to fine tune the cooking process. The picture above shows the standard setup I use when I am using my camp grill.

I have to give a shout out to my wife right now. Although she teases me every now and then about Steemit, she fully supports my efforts on here and she was kind enough to take some pictures while she assembled the calzones.

IMG_20180805_164341.jpg

We purchase the dough from the freezer section of our local supermarket. The sausage and bacon I had cooked up in my cast iron pan that morning. Everything else you see there is pretty standard fare at most grocery stores.

IMG_20180805_164517.jpg

She separates the dough into four smaller balls and then works them out to be the calzone. As you can see here, she then adds a little bit of sauce to one half of the dough.

IMG_20180805_164554.jpg

Then she adds the other goodies!

IMG_20180805_164645.jpg

Finally she closes it up and crimps it down with her fingers. She adds some olive oil or cooking spray to the outside and sprinkles it with seasoned salt or just salt and pepper.

I know it looks like there is a lot of oil on the pan, but it is important to make sure they are well lubricated so they don't stick to the grill grates.

IMG_20180805_172024.jpg

Now my work begins!

IMG_20180805_172051.jpg

Excuse my finger in the picture... The grill is only large enough to do two of them at a time, so I have to cook them in batches. You can see in the picture how I placed the calzones on the other side of the grill from the coals. You have to be very careful to keep them well away from any of the coals. If you don't, you will end up with some blackened calzones, don't ask me how I know...

I cover the grill up and give it a good ten minutes. Sometimes I check about halfway through or a little longer and flip or move the calzones around to allow for even cooking. Many times I just let them go and they come out okay.

IMG_20180805_173207.jpg

This was my first batch and you can see how the top one is a little more done on the one side than the other. With the second batch I think I turned them at about the six or seven minute mark to allow for even cooking on the other hemisphere of the calzone.

IMG_20180805_174334.jpg

This is what all of them looked like when they were finished. Each calzone is enough for my wife and I to have one and be reasonably full. They keep really well, so if you wanted to warm the others back up for lunch another day you totally can. As you saw in the opening picture, we had these with a premixed salad you can buy from the store.

The cool thing about calzones is you can really put anything you want in them. The possibilities are endless!

Thanks for following along with me. I hope you enjoyed reading and I hope you give these a try yourself!


This is posted on steemkitchen.com - Featuring the greatest recipes and food blogs posted by members of SteemKitchen On the STEEM Blockchain
View on Steemkitchen
contact us on Discord

Sort:  

Okay, so I was hungry and I came back. What can I say. How about cooking up some steaks and I will bring some mesquite, that way you can get rid of the charcoal.
Those sure do look delicious and that they keep and reheat easy it would make a lot of sense to make extras while you are going through the process.
Nice work and tell the wife she did good on the photos.

I will let her know. I actually have an old grill lid that I have been hanging on to. Someday, I want to get one of those grates that go over the campfire pit. Then with the lid on top I should be able to do some radiant cooking over and open fire. That brings a whole new set of challenges that I will need to master though. Thanks for the comment!

Looks fricken delicious! Man, now you got me craving a homemade calzone lol.. I like making up my own concoctions too.. oh yeah and props for making them on the grill, a charcoal one at that, very impressed! I know this will hurt ur feelings but im a gas grill guy 😉 LoL.

Nah, I can appreciate the convenience of a gas grill and the way that it heats evenly. I try to avoid them as much as possible though. I feel like grilling is more of an art when you use charcoal or wood. Thanks for the comment! I am glad you enjoyed reading!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

You have received an upvote from cooggerup and all the users that have joined the trail with you that has available upvote power.


Thank you for supporting steemkitchen community that is part of the Coogger Ecosystem.

Contact us on Discord

Thank you!

what a great idea! My husband and I love camping and the meals are always special to us as well. Somehow food while camping tastes better, right? lol
I didn't think about calzones, but definitely will next time! I love this idea, they look so tasty. Well done, thanks for sharing :)

Yeah, I think part of it is that you are so relaxed that you just slow down and enjoy it a little more :) Thanks for the compliment and comment!

You had me at the first sight
of mushrooms!
What a delicious looking meal,
especially while camping!
No roughing it at your campsite!
@bozz
🔥🌯🍄

No way! We also have a recipe to do a meatloaf and potatoes in a dutch oven that is really good. Thanks for the comment!

Can't wait to you you post that meal!

Again they look very tasty. The thing I like about a calzone is indeed that you can stuff them with whatever you like. Mushrooms,onions, peppers, and döner... yummy :)

Thanks, yes, they were really good and actually so easy to make. The extra flavor you get from doing them on a grill is awesome!

Drooling so hardcore!

Thanks! I appreciate it!

THAT is awesome!!!!
I can remember one time my son tried to make a frozen pizza on our BBQ grill- EPIC FAIL!

THESE looks great!

Thanks! It is really super easy. The funny thing is when you use indirect cooking and think about the grill as an oven you can really do anything! We have done meatloaf in a pan before. Super tasty!

OMG, they look delicious, I had never thought of cooking them on a camp fire, I have had a campfire cake once that was delicious. Thanks for sharing but now I am hungry lol. :D

No problem! We also have the cast iron pie makers that you can use slices of bread and make stuff over the fire. I am pretty handy with that as well. Thanks for the comment.

@bozz nice, I haven't been camping in a really long time, I am hoping we can get back into it with our son as he loves nature and would revel in the dirt lol...

Our friends that we camp with a lot have a couple kids and it is fun watching them run all over the place and explore!

@bozz I am sure he will love it when we get round to it, he loves the outdoors.

Oh, man. Those look so good! Really seriously good looking.

Thanks bozz. That is a good looking feed.

Thanks! I appreciate it!

Glad you finally able to post it on @steemkitchen’s website and that calzone look so fully loaded and tempting.

Looking forward to see more @bozz! Cheers!

Thanks! I appreciate it! Thanks for the tip on making it easy to bring my photos into the post! I am going to try to use Steemkitchen more in the future for sure!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-28T15:02:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 555.00/200.00
Total Photos: 78
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank