You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hard Fork 21: Expect Glitches

in #steemleo5 years ago

Yeah, I hear you. However, I don't think that is possible as long as @steemit continues to power down more than 325K per week. I might be wrong though.

Also, even though I can see how this potentially could benefit us in the long haul, I think it's likely to do more harm than good, as the existing Steemians, especially "wealthier" accounts that already have a decent amount of SP will continue to grow larger, in an even faster pace than before due to reward changes, long before onboarding of new users would begin... And that usually doesn't look good.

Those are often the typical "red flags" that makes people anxious and skeptical, which ultimately would become the biggest obstacles for us to get new people to join. And truth to be told, one of the biggest (if not the biggest) problem we have right now, before HF21, is that newcomers leave when they struggle to earn...

That being said, I hope I am wrong, and I truly hope that HF21 will be as good as many people claims it to be.

Sort:  

I don't think the rich getting richer is a problem in the short term. It just should not stay this way in the long run.
Why do I think this? In the last year, whales and orcas lost a combined 25% in terms of steem holdings to dolphins and minnows. That means reverting this change will not be a problem in the short term (1 year).
Taskmaster and others have shown countless times that the distribution of steem was working under HF20 rules. Tomorrows changes might revert this, at least in the short term.