You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow Those Who Do The Research

in #steemleo5 years ago

Certainly that guy seems to have an axe to grind like you said. However, touching on some things relating to 'onboarding the masses,' @heimindanger made a post regarding the need for a separate blockchain for dTube. I hate to be the next naysayer and all, and I do have tremedous hope and see amazing potential in steem. However, like @heimindanger correctly pointed out, "You wouldn't be able to fit Instagram in a blockchain, ever, even with the most scalable blockchain tech on the world's best hardware. "
Is it just me or is this a bit of an elephant in the room that nobody seems to want to address? Or am I missing something here? If we're all betting on Steem becoming the next facebook/insta/twitter/youname it all running on the same chain, aren't we going to start to run into some sort of bottlenecks before long? Granted the transaction/second capabilities of Steem and other DPOS blockchains are among the highest of the blockchain techs, are we still not simply missing the vast enormity of facebook/insta's user base and the generated activities of the masses? I mean I already seem to see witnesses complaining about mira playback speeds... how well is this going to scale exponentially or is stinc just running some sort of super-elaborate ponzi? I'd like to hear some other people's opinons on this...

Sort:  

I agree storing large data files in the blockchain would make it unwieldy. Look how big the bitcoin blockchain is and each of its records are small compared to just one photo! There are distributed file storage projects out there now - maybe we need a page from their playbook?

Thanks for your comment @synrg.

Without a doubt, @heimindanger knows what he is talking about. The idea of putting the Facebook family on blockchain right now is a bit outlandish. What I am proposing here is 2 MILLION users versus 2-3 BILLION for the Facebook family. Couple that over all the transactions and you are looking at how many? 5B a day? 3B? Whatever it is, the number is very big.

Technology unfolds over time. Facebook couldnt handle 2B accounts when it was released either. The technology in 2004-2005 simply was not there.

As for DTube, they made a decision on multiple levels. They are a prime example of how the Steem blockchain does not fit every case. DTube needed options outside Steem's base content/reward system. That said, they remain completely commited to Steem as evidence by all they did since the update.

I enjoy the new feature of dTube, I agree with the post. Like you said they couldn't have done it on steem in regards to what their specific goals are. And of course I appreciate still sticking with steem. Unlike the 'other' video platform from a while back... haha. And I guess really only time will tell how things scale up, I hate to play devils advocate with this one but just wanting to get some second opinions. However I think they are many people more technically savvy than I am in regards to these things so I will for the time being rest assured we're still onto something good here! ;) And my pleasure for the comment, thanks for the insights along the way - first time actually commenting but have enjoyed following, so thank you! 👌

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment