You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New project, Ironman helmet just started

in #steemmakers6 years ago

Looking good !

I'm kind of on a design hiatus because I'm very late on Finishing my Internship presentation (it's for the 13th XS) and also because my migo 3d printer got delayed to end September / beginning October 😢

I have to say... winning that design competition and having to wait 9 months to get the prize was unexpected 😅😅

How did you get your very first printer? Specifically for a project or because it sounded interesting ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

9 months? I hope it will still be good enough product. I see it is small, I want something much bigger now.
I built my first printer from parts sourced from ebay, used first printrbot as a base but enlarged it for bigger bed size. It was first mistake, because it became very wobbly. I had a lasercutter at home so I cut my own parts. It was so many troubles with it, but learned a lot and since than, less affraid of building more difficult things. After that almost converted it to ultimaker, but did not work because of my innacuracies. Than I built delta but could not configure it correctly. then bought first CTC and started using printer instead of fixing one :)

Well, they had to make the printer first after all.

Although the ones who accepted a kickstarter preorder as a prize for their design competition really should have thought twice about it in my opinion.
I wonder how the 3rd prize winner is living the eternal wait ?

Maybe he has forgotten he's even won something by now 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

what did you design to win it? Is it your first printer? its tiny. I would have to split this helmet to 30 pieces to print it there :)

I designed a Christmas tree decoration, specifically a snowflake

https://www.vectary.com/3d-modeling-news/and-the-winners-of-our-christmas-3d-design-challenge-are-9036fe21634c

And yes its going to be my very first printer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good job. Simple but effective. Congratulations. I see you also added Steem flavour to it :) I hope you will get your printer fast and start using it. Want to see what will you create with it.