You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good-bye Steemmonsters, I've Had Enough With This Last Tourney Twist (HAPPILY UPDATED!)

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

It's 11am here and while I am at work right now, when I saw your reply I felt obliged to write a quick reply(at least) to appreciate your time and kindness to answer me in detailed, coherent way.

Now I can clearly see where your arguments are coming from, and I agree (at least partially) with you in some aspects. Without going into too much details, my understanding is that your concern is two parts:

  1. People who paid for cards should be able to join the tourneys that are funded by themselves,

  2. Having entry fee is not good for expanding the player base.

I should think more about this and make a suggestion (or state different opinion) later.


P.S. btw, you totally got me when we played last time (some gold foil tourney). I believe that you are already one of the top players, and are likely to win(as long as you have properly leveled-up cards for the designated level of the match).

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you and of course don't take time from work to reply to me, that's respectful but not necessary! :)

And yes,

  1. the people who own the cards have paid for the money that is in those pools. It was something promised from Day 1. Those pools were supposed to be for ALL the card holders as long as they owned the cards. By charging a fee, it is now requiring people to pay to have a chance at the money they've already been promised to have, and that's not right. (AGAIN, there are better ways to limit mismatches by making people stay in their leagues and compete that way... ie Diamonds vs Diamonds... Bronze vs Bronze)

  2. Yes, if you read my blog here you can see the reaction. People don't like being treated unfairly. If they want to expand the player base, they also need to make sure they create an environment where the people that do try it feel they have a fair chance. Right now, under this way it will end up being a small set of people that get all the pool money (maybe 50 total players getting the major share of it). While that is good for you in the short run, it is not good in the long run. The reason is that you will have to recycle through all the others cards as they leave the game. If you want this to go viral and have lots of people stick around, I think it is also crucial that people that aren't the "best" players at least feel they have a fair chance.

By the way, I wouldn't have said anything if they didn't put the fees on it... The fees are what make it unfair when its coming from the money that was from the pool that all card holders paid for. I'm not suggesting that people have "handouts", I'm suggesting that if they want to limit the tourneys do it by another means. Limit it to a player's ELO rating and not by if they pay a fee or not. That would solve both problems rather easily. PS... Plus it would have the benefit of people wanting to play the quests again so that they can get in the better leagues. (thus making them better players)

... and pps... thank you for the kind words and I did get lucky against you on one match :P ... But I am old enough to know that you are better than me, but I would have fun playing you nonetheless! ;)

Having ELO system would be great, for matchmaking and tourney table setup.

It seems that they are working on 'dark energy crystal', in-game currency that can be earned by playing games(and more), and let players pay the entry fee with that crystal. May I ask what your thoughts are on this movement?

I don't know enough about it to give you any details, but I do understand the general concept. I think it will enable a currency to be created that enables people to "do things" (like entering tournaments). I think they plan on having players earn it in various ways, so a lot of what I think about it would depend on the details. Conceptually it is awesome, but if they do anything like this decision I'm upset about, then of course it could work against their goals.

I would say its great that they are advancing the infrastructure around the game, I think @yabapmatt does a tremendous job on all of that. I even think Aggy has talent on some aspects of marketing. The thing they are missing is they have lost a lot of trust from people by breaking promises, and the only way to regain that trust is to stop repeating the same mistakes.

I was also excited about their upcoming extension of weapons and spells.. It will be a different aspect that would add a lot of value to the game. That is supposed to come in the 4th quarter.

So overall, I love many things they are doing.

곰돌이가 @glory7님의 소중한 댓글에 $0.006을 보팅해서 $0.017을 살려드리고 가요. 곰돌이가 지금까지 총 3337번 $39.854을 보팅해서 $41.580을 구했습니다. @gomdory 곰도뤼~