Sort:  

I wasn't there for it, but I assume they needed people to buy large stakes of SPS similar to a fundraise, so with his big bag of SPS (maybe the largest bag holder, I'm not sure) he became the de facto chairman due to his largest stake.

Aly's title is Head of the SPS DAO Foundation. I made a mistake in saying he was the Chairman of the Board for Splinterlands.

yes that's most likely the case. Its actually very normal as the investors need to have a degree of control because they have money at stake.

Aly's title is Head of the SPS DAO Foundation. I made a mistake in saying he was the Chairman of the Board for Splinterlands.

many times it happens when outside investors are brought in. Its part of the demands that the investors seek to protect their investment. That's not unusual, especially with VCs.