My @steemmonsters Game Jam Submission! (SM: Tap Monsters)

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)


Capture.PNG !

(I gotta get back to my math homework, so this’ll be a very short and quickly written post.)

The @steemmonsters Game Jam is coming to an end. I’ve submitted my game, SM: Tap Monsters, a clicker type game.

Download for android: https://itch.io/jam/steem-monsters-1000-invitational/rate/298828.
Play on @steemgg: https://steemgg.com/#/game/play/26.
GitHub: https://github.com/surfknasen/SMTapMonsters.git.

The idea is basic: you fight to get experience to level and unlock better monsters. You then use your monsters to fight bosses. The goal of the game is to beat all the bosses. I also wanted to have upgrades that gave you, for example, +1% EXP or maybe deal +1% extra damage. However, I did not have time for this so I had to leave it out. Another thing I didn’t have time for is music/sound, which is very unfortunate.

While the game jam is 5 days, I started a bit in advance (which aggroed allowed us to do). Since I only have time to work about 3 hours a day on game dev, that early start was very important to me. I knew almost immediately that I wanted to make a clicker game. It’s something I’ve always wanted to try, so I thought it’d be perfect for a game jam, and that’s what I went with.

Thank you and good luck to everyone participating! Looking forward to seeing what everyone else has created.

Sort:  

Thanks for the contribution, @surfknasen! I've never really played a clicker type game before, but this looks pretty cool! Since this is your first contribution on Utopian I would like to give you some feedback (and I recommend you read this great guide as well).

  • It would be cool to have some more information about why you implemented something the way you did, a couple more pictures of the application and other pieces that may be interesting to anyone reading your contribution.
  • The commit messages could be a bit more descriptive in my opinion. I would definitely recommend that you check out this guide as it includes a lot of information about how to write good commit messages.
  • Could add some more comments, well, at least function declarations would be nice.
  • The README is very bare, would've been great if this included some more information as well.
  • Please include an open source license in your repository, otherwise it's not an open source project.

I look forward to seeing more of your contributions in the future!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for the feedback! I'll update with an open source license and improve this stuff for future projects!

Edit: I am unsure which license I should use for a project like this. I've never licensed anything before, so I'll have to look this up when I get the time.

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian!

So far this week you've reviewed 5 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Hi @surfknasen!

Do you have a mirror of the code of your game that is hosted in GitHub? Currently, under Utopian Guidelines,

In the body of your post always include the link to the github repository at the top, i.e. https://github.com/utopian-io/utopian.io.

And at the same time, Utopian implements the GitHub Integration Policy, which can also be read in the Utopian Guidelines.

All contributions submitted must be linked to an open source project with a GitHub repository.

Hello! I seem to have missed that. I'll migrate to GitHub ASAP.

Edit: Done.

That's great @surfknasen. God bless and good luck on your contribution :)

Hmm, that Steemgg link says: failed to load

Oh right, it's gotta approve the game until people can play it. I'll edit that in until it's been approved!

This is fantastic fun. Great game!

Thank you very much!

Hi @surfknasen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @surfknasen!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

You do game dev and math homework? Are you a genius? I'm thinking you probably are lol

Still got many years of school left, so not quite there yet!