You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Operation Mass Adoption - Get Involved!

The facebook topic has less to do with being cool, and more to do with some pretty in depth politics that aren't relevant to this post I think, but there are plenty of articles floating around on Steem about those politics.
I see no harm in promoting blockchain on mainstream social media like facebook, twitter, and the likes. That is where the masses are, so it is a great environment to spread the word indeed!
I'm thinking about doing the twitter and reddit thing to spread awareness, facebook is out of the question for me however.
I appreciate your thoughts , thank you for stopping by :)

Sort:  

Yea I'm aware of the politics concerning fb and despite this still feel it's not to be overlooked. Being that I've never tweeted it seems unlikely I'll gain any traction whatsoever on that platform.

I'm also being hit with the reality that after a decade on FB I only have 1000 followers and most all of them I've known or at least had some communication with them in the past.

This is quite sobering when contrasted with the few dozen people that show any interest in my steem posts on this blockchain. As social media becomes more of a utility rather than a luxury or mere source of entertainment and information it's becoming increasingly difficult to expect people to jump ship for whatever reason.

For me the major appeal of steem has nothing to do with crypto or the economic incentives, and has everything to do with being censorship resistant. I'm not sure how many of the masses are really concerned about this or the selling of their data to provide what they mistakenly see as a free app.

By abandoning such a user base steem is definitely not going to get the message out to those that may eventually won't some security and sovereignty. I'm not a here's my lunch or trying to topple the capitalistic world as we know it account, I'm somewhere in the middle. All I know is out of the 1000 fb friends I have I don't know of any that would have the desire to figure this ecosystem out.

We need to define what successfully steeming is, if it's profitability we have about 50 witnesses and a handful of content creators and/or curators having success here. For ease of math let's say 1000 out of a million so one in a thousand. That's one of my followers if everyone on boarded today which only thins out the reward pool that's being gamed already.

Not one of the potential 1000 steemians earning here aren't gaming the system. That's fine the chain allows it, but having witnesses that run bid bots and self vote and circle jerk are not going to appeal to new users..

Sorry for the length, I'm just not at all convinced this ecosystem can handle mass adoption. The track record of dead accounts and steem being held by a small percentage of accounts kind of reeks of bloated rotting fish spread among the finest caviar. Where's the spicy tuna rolls for the masses?

Where have I said anything about overlooking mainstream social media,lol this isn't even the post topic here. Some individuals here prefer not to use certain platforms, which is their right and their choice, and I don't have the right more so than anyone else to dictate how another feels regarding the politics surrounding any social media platforms.
I'm not going to address much of what you've said here, because you've summed it all up to lovely metaphor of bloated rotting fish.

I'm just not at all convinced this ecosystem can handle mass adoption.

We won't know if we don't try.
If you want to bash Steem, please.. do it somewhere else.
Good day to you.

Did you just good day to you sir me ? Without the sir? No problem I will keep from commenting on people’s comments sections that can’t handle any sort of resistance. What’s the point? Just stick with all the cheerleaders eh ?hoorah steem !

Posted using Partiko iOS

Resistance from what, unwarranted bashing of cyrpto I'm passionate about? I don't have anything bad to say about Steem, is it resistance because I am not jumping on your bandwagon to cheer you on when you came to my post to spread negative connotations towards it?
No, that is not very gentleman like or rational, so I see no warrant for giving such a title of sir when confronted with immature condescending behavior. Whatever you have to say from here goes ignored.
I don't want commenters like you, so I won't take it as a loss.

Tackle retention rates, I will make sure to follow you from now on and say what I want. Yours trolly

LOL!!

Human Knot.jpg

There you are, been wondering where you might pop up... I'm engaging and it's going great! @por500bolos I don't want commenters like you anyway nanny boo boo

Posted using Partiko Android