Can We Talk About Depression?

in #steemph4 years ago

Depression causes feelings of sadness and/or a loss of interest in activities once enjoyed. - American Psychiatric Association

At one point in anyone's life, we all feel sad. Sadness does not necessarily mean you're depressed. However, sadness is the most common symptom of depression. I'm a psychiatric nurse and I had met a number of patients with depression that require serious professional attention. An individual who can no longer make the every day normal activities because their mind is like in a trance. They refuse to move, too lazy to get out of bed, take a bath and even eat. Stayed on bed but never sleeps.
20200114_074421.jpg

I decided to talk about this because I know there could be a lot of young people out there currently experiencing the symptoms without their family or friends' knowing. The increasing suicide rate in this generation is heart breaking. We might not know it but it is important to check on your friends or loved ones as well. I had my own suicidal ideation, if I could be honest. I had my own episodes of sadness, emptiness, stress, too much probems that I thought of giving up, not just once but many times. But if I could cry it out loud, I would and if I could talk about it with my friends or family, I would. If I can't talk about it yet, I write it down. Like the poem above. And the most important is prayer. Pray that you'll heal, pray for your friend who is down right now. Be mindful and talk to your friend who's feeling sad right now, you might be a great help for him/her to stand back up. And don't be afraid to get some help. Keep living!😊

Sort:  

That's nice of you to share. People should know depression is conquerable and also, most people feel it.
Nice post, voted and resteemed.

Thanks.☺️

Congratulations @eunhye.gray! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I miss you Eve . Everything will be alright and hope ill be ok 😥