"DIRK BIKE FOOT'S OUT TECHNIQUE"

in #steemph6 years ago

"FOOT OUT TECHNIQUE"

FB_IMG_1519177442824.jpg

Few months ago me and my friends ride our dirtbike and during that day i had my first pictorial with my XR150 doing a cornerning. My position there was doing a knee-down technique because I have said I used to ride a sportbike and whenever I ride on a corner I used to ride that way.

FB_IMG_1519177103681.jpg

I bought a dirtbike (which is my XR150) not because I want to ride a dirtbike but I see to it as an opportunity to have a new riding skills. I plan to ride and learn offroad but since I live and ride most of the time at asphalt roads and twisties, I still ended up on leaning motorcycles in which I could connect to supermoto which I also love.

So one time I've read a comment from a follower about my cornering post and he said that when he's cornerning he uses to do the "foot-out" technique (which is shown on the picture) in which just like what most supermoto riders do and so I'm enlightened saying to myself "oo nga pala! ganun nga pala sila bumangking." and it became also my starting point to learn and practice the "foot-out" technique.

20180221_091511.jpg

I did some quick research about that so called 'foot-out cornering', and I've read some trivia from the FIM Asia Supermoto page saying that most supermoto riders prefer the 'foot-out' technique as opposed to the 'knee-down' when cornering. It is because keeping the foot out toward the inside of the turn helps to keep the rear tire from sliding away from the rider. I also looked for some 'foot-out' cornering photos and I was even more amazed to see how low they can lean their bikes. I also realized why MotoGP riders are doing the foot-out technique when entering a corner, maybe to avoid the rear tire from sliding and keep themselves from a high side accident.

Now I am enlightened with the 'foot-out' technique and so just earlier this morning I tried it on some zigzags on my way to work and while doing it I also realized that the 'foot-out' technique and the position when cornering using that foot-out technique was very effective on a dirtbike. I felt better handling compare to the kneedown and now I know why it is the most prefered technique on supermoto, lower lean angle plus faster cornering equals faster laps, and also keeping the rear tire from sliding.

I also think that the knee-down is still effective, but on wider corners while the foot-out technique on tighter corners. Both are useful techniques I'm still doing both.

So on my next photoshoot I'll be trying the 'foot-out' technique.
FB_IMG_1519177847599.jpg

I am happy to learn new skills and become a better rider and even more happy to share this to you ;-)