LIFE LESSONS THAT YOGA HAS TAUGHT ME

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

At first, I actually feel discouraged to do yoga because I thought it is only for those people who are skinny and flexible. But I was totally wrong, there are a lot of life lessons that yoga has taught me.

3565E32E-1C9E-4EC0-ACD3-FE77EF6DB923.jpeg

YOGA is the perfect opportunity to be curious about who you are. On my first yoga practice, I had been diligently working on copying the poses that our instructor was teaching. Afterwards, I realized that yoga is more than just an exercise. It is a path to self discovery ‘coz you’re connecting your breath with movement and observing the natural flow of life.

32F454C2-B4BB-425D-B36F-51ED3AEE0ED4.jpeg

Yoga is a journey to loving yourself. In yoga, I’ve learned that you need to honor your body. This activity doesn’t care about the shape of your body but the shape of your life. If you get tired, learn to rest, not to quit. Just like in life, all of us get weary but you can’t just stop ‘coz life goes on. Accordingly, listen to your body and to your life.

36D84641-27CE-44A4-9A12-6B3D44C85C04.jpeg

4233A8CB-6196-4136-91B4-59D37E58EF53.jpeg

I’m with my friends in these two pictures, different group but one goal — to finish our yoga class. Yoga doesn’t care about who you are or what you have been, it cares about the person you are becoming. Whether you belong to a group of master yogis, beginners, skeptics and those who have no idea what the concept "yoga" means, yoga will teach you to expand your horizon with an open mind, body, and spirit. There is always something more to learn. Growth is infinite.

02E68328-2A33-4DB1-864E-186C45F44E84.jpeg

Yoga is also a gateway for expanding gratitude for everything you do have in life. It’s not just about a journey of loving yourself but all others more. In this class, we got a chance to express how much we love others by supporting the missions and humanitarian efforts of Tzu Chi Foundation by donating our extra money thru Tzu Chi Brothers and Sisters.

If you want to join or to know more info, just follow this link:

www.facebook.com/yogaisforeveryoneph

D9E6AE78-403B-4AE1-9A99-1169DF87BDF9.jpeg

Thus, yoga has taught me to do what gives me peace, to let go of the things that no longer serves me, to cure what need not be endured and endure what cannot be cured, to rediscover a sense of wholeness in my life, to breathe, to be at present and just be okay with it, that I can achieve more than I think, and to be gentle with myself and others.

0E1A99A2-26F4-4CE7-9655-5719A126482B.jpeg

“Yoga is the journey of the self, through the self, to the self.” - The Bhagvad Gita

All photos are mine and taken from my iphone 6s.

Hugs and kisses,

Rayna

Sort:  

I have upvoted and resteemed your post. I have also started following you to see more of your work.

How specifically does yoga add all this to your life. It was such a vague writing, with no detailed information to back up the claims.

#yoga is life 🙇🙇

True @teejaytalksick! There’s no greater wealth in this world than peace of mind. 😊

Well done ate! Am proud of you.

Thanks tita! Let’s do yoga when you get home. 😘