From Hangover to Brunch (On Being a Tita)

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

HELLO, WEEKEND!!! We meet again. What shall we do today?

When I was in my teens to mid-twenties, weekends meant partying till dawn, watching the last full show in the cinema, singing in videoke bars, or just drinking in a friend's house. My energy seemed to be limitless. I could stay late at night for several consecutive days and still manage to accomplish my tasks (albeit a little slower than usual). I remember having hangovers but with just a glass of water with Berocca and I'm back on my feet!

When I was in my teens to mid-twenties, weekends meant partying till dawn

But I am a proud member of the Titas-of-Manila now. There are a few disadvantages somehow. But I'm so loving the perks!

Unfortunately, I cannot stay up late for two consecutive days anymore. I'll be having the worst migraine, back pains, and be useless for the rest of day. Yeah I'm an oldie. (But just to be clear, I'm JUST 33 years old.) ☺️

So goodbye videoke nights, farewell inuman [drinking] sessions, see you probably never last full shows.

Say hello to my new love, BRUNCH!

Brunch is not just a meal. It is a social hour, an experience if I may say.

French toast at 14 Four Cafe, Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

Our favorite french pressed brewed coffee, also at 14 Four Cafe

What I love about weekend brunch is the relaxed feeling of being out of the rat race (even for just a couple of hours). It's breakfast but not really so there's no need to wake up early. Once you're there, it's not yet lunch as well so there's still plenty of time to draw, read a book, enjoy the food, and savor the moment of peace. And while you're catching up with your significant other or your Tita/Tito friends, playing on the background is Lionel Richie's Easy Like Sunday Morning or Maroon 5’s Sunday Morning if you want a little beat in your day.

Brunch at Bags of Beans, Tagaytay City, Philippines

What I also love about being a Tita is having the license (somehow) to stay in good hotels. When we travel, I no longer prefer the adventure of staying in a cramped hostel with strangers sleeping beside my pod. Like this one!

Not my actual photo but this is B88 Hostel, a hostel where we stayed at in Singapore

While I loved the thrill of staying in a hostel, to be honest, it wasn't really that comfortable. I remember not being able to sleep for a while due to the synchronized snoring of the other backpackers. Not to mention the not-so-welcome smell of the pairs of feet protruding from the capsules/bed slots. 😅 Yes, it was fun but... I'd rather have this Tita bed. 😍

Superior room at Sofitel Philippine Plaza


Even Baby S loves it here

It's a lot pricier that the capsule bed but hey that's the perk of being a Tita, right?

And what's even great with hotels? Breakfast buffet!

Aside from the wide spread of food options, what's really appealing to me is the fact that we don't have to wash the dishes afterward. Soooo, Tita! But when you're a Tita, you spend on quality and comfort. *wink* Besides, we'll be saving on the cost of alcohol anyway. *wink wink*

What do you think? Isn't being a Tita/Tito so much fun?!

Sort:  

Ah yes.. I couldn’t stand staying out late anymore. Maybe once every three months yes lol. I like my coffee black, and I drink beer for the taste.

Lol maybe once a year? For the company convention like last night 🤣 or at least while we’re still employed 🤭

or at least while we're employed.

Power!!!

Ay ay ay!!! 💪🏻💪🏻💪🏻

And yes to drinking beer for the taste, not to get drunk. Wine for me though. 🍷

It is fun because we have more zen minds body and souls. haha jk!

I remember not being able to sleep for a while due to the synchronized snoring of the other backpackers.

I laughed so much reading this because we tried a hostel on our first night in HK before. I couldn't sleep haha. We need to try that french pressed coffee sometime.

snoring

*dreamy walks out.

Hahaha

Hahaahahaha

I remember the synchronized snoring at our place in Sierra Madre! 🤫🤫🤫 paging @helenski

Hahahaha kakaloka 😂😂😂

Is zen synonymous to old? Lol

The only reason we were able to sleep in that hostel is because we’re dead tired from our lakwatsa. But no regrets, it’s what fits the budget then. ☺️

This is the stage in life where you value relaxation and quality time with family and friends. A few drinks will not hurt because you now what a bad hang-over feels like. This is the time you have the money to do what you want but have a tight schedule. So as long as we can enjoy, go ahead. Being called a Tita/Tito means you have wisdom. :)

Love hearing from my co-tito/titas here. 😍

Indeed, we’re wiser but more tired though so a little splurge on something relaxing won’t hurt right?

Now, when the budget is tight, staying at home to binge-watch [or sleep 😉] is very welcome as well.

The "fun" from outdoors also is now translated to the comfort of your home or hotels. Being a Tita/o might look boring but I guess at a certain age or maturity, and when you have experienced almost everything, you would trade being wasted to just being cozy. I'm not yet fully on the Tito stage, still on the interim, but I prefer social drinking.

Thanks for reading my post. 😊 Yes, cozy! That was the term I was looking for.

I’m not yet fully on the Tito stage

I think I actually jumped early on the Tita/o life. Others would stay in their party days until late twenties to early thirties. But I just love being laidback.

Tita-ness is way more fun! We still do late nights but not these aren't alcohol-induced anymore.

Speaking of alcohol, it was fun while it lasted. Way too many ahm, interesting stories (thinking of one that involves a pool and a bathroom door) hahahha! I think there might even be an incriminating video or two, of certain Titas we know. Hahaha @thedailymom @luvabi @omggrendell

Ahahaha
No comment. walks out

cyber-walkout! lol

Hahahaha! And both incidents involved bathrooms!

Hahaha troooths. Alcohol and bathrooms. Hahahaha

Steem On!

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)