A Call to Action from the Steem Pope!

in #steempope6 years ago (edited)

steempope.jpg

Those of us who came to Steemit to create and support original content now have a sad duty to undertake as well. If we are to keep Steemit free from spam and plagiarism, we must police our own ecosystem. The new posts feed is filled with lazy copy-pasted articles, images and meaningless nonsense posted by people who care only about getting rich quick on crypto. While I don't hold "intellectual property" claims in high esteem, basic honesty requires giving credit where credit is due, and a content-based blockchain needs real original content rather than plagiarism.

I call on dolphins, orcas, and whales here to join me in proactively finding a spammer to flag whenever we post something new and original ourselves. We don't need to scroll far these days. Minnows, please support @steemcleaners and use their reporting site when spam, plagiarism, and abuse crop up. We need a holy war on abuse!

The only way to end spam is to make it unprofitable. The only way to make it unprofitable is to use our power to flag such content. This does require judicious action, and newbies deserve a warning, since they likely see little but spam already here, so they must have opportunity to mend their ways after an initial explanation. But we cannot allow dishonest people to pollute the blockchain if we can possibly help it.

Sort:  

You can get paid for your flag by calling @steemflagrewards and listing spam, bid bot abuse, or plagiarism.
The complete list is in their discord.

Exactly spot on. Thanks for giving a shout out to the Steemcleaners team, much appreciated.

The current presiding Steem Pope has spoken!

Heed his words!

At least with the new hardfork spammers won't have much voting power like before.

Much as I hated the way the fork was implemented, I think the changes themselves will be largely beneficial. Still, we can't rely on the blockchain process itself to ever really prevent spam.

True that. I hate spammers who just don't care how they waste this block chain's resources.

I typically make my own memes, or take selfies. I rarely post serious content here, I treat Steem like Facebook. If I do more "important" content then the community reacts positively and I get more engagement (and STEEM). Not to mention, I've been focusing mostly on growing Steem Power, not necessarily caring to grow my personal income, but Steem Power is nice to support serious posters.

I dont support plagiarism, so I don't do it (of course), and I'm with you there about not caring so much about IP rules. So hope my content isn't considered spam in yours or other people's eyes. :)

I post a mishmash of hobby stuff and political/economic stuff. Some may consider my content a waste of space, but it is my own work regardless

I completely agree. It's not all about having a few accounts with large SP fighting abuse. It's a numbers game. The more people fighting means the more eyes destroying the abuse. Doesn't matter if you have 1 SP or a million. The message is visible.

Hey, @jacobtothe.

I am hoping that the fact that legitimate users with low SP can't do much because of the RC limits now placed upon them that spammers would find themselves in similar circumstances—unable to do a whole lot. Otherwise, making the real user suffer would be completely and utterly in vain. That's not to say it's a great trade off—it's not. It would be better if there were a way to differentiate between spammers and regular users, so that the former got hit with the RC issues while the latter was able to carry on. That, however, is not the way it works, and from what I can tell it won't ever.