PLEASE COMMENT--So my voting power just went up! How did this happen? I don't even know. HELP!

in #steempower7 years ago

I am happy to say that my voting power went up today. Even with a newbie like me that doesn't understand everything yet, it's still growing and I am making about $45 per post.

But here are my questions that maybe some of you can answer for me and BENEFIT ALL OTHER NEWBIES ALSO. Keep in mind I am a visual, artistic learner so keep it simple with the tech talk for me, please.

Did my power become more because I made money on posts?

If I keep upvoting do I then lose that power?

The dollar amount I see on my posts, is that US dollar value? Or steem dollar value? Or bitcoin dollar value? What is the rate between steem=bitcoin=US$?

When I figure out how to transfer my wallet into my actual bank account is that "powering down" as they say? And how does that affect my steem power. Is that like starting over?

And how does the percentage of the $on my post get shared with those whom have upvoted? Is it weighted to their power?

Ok, that's enough questions for now. Maybe you can help and share your wisdom and insight with us newby, non-techies.

Thanks for any comments below!

Sort:  

Hello and congrats on making that nice amount of money per post.
I am still far from that!
I actually have most of the doubts that you are having so I can't help you but thanks for making this post, I will check new replies.

Yes, your revenues depend on your Steem Power. The more Steem power you have, the more money you get. Revenues also depend on other people's upvotes for your and your upvotes for the others. If you share and appreciate worthy stuff, your position improves.

If you sell your Steem Power (Power down), your revenues decrease till you get it back.

The Dollar value is Steem value in USD actually.

Thanks for the info. So I went to Block trades and got a new address to send the money to bitcoin and I still don't know where to enter that address. Then I went to power down to see if that would send me anywhere, clicked it and nothing happened. I see I have Steem dollars but can only transfer to a bank account, trade, buy sell, etc. I still don't see where to put that bitcoin address or if I should do it through dollars or power. This is a lot to learn!

At first, change your Steem Dollars to Steem. You can do so at local Steemit market: https://steemit.com/market
Powering down - transfering Steem Power to Steem - takes 13 weeks while each week a certain percentage of you Steem Power is converted. I believe it is not wise at all but it's your choice.
Do you use Steemit chat? https://steemit.chat Meet me there at channel "general" for more hints. It would be much swifter than comments.

So the power of voice rose in all a few days ago, after HF. What you see is yes, it's Stееmdollars, half you get in them, and half - in the power of the steеms

What is HF?

nice to meet you, just arrived on steemit...

Congratulations @cindybowen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!