You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Onboarding the masses - SteemPress updated roadmap and growth strategy

@howo and @frederikaa

I have been wanting to get to what I knew would be an exciting post for days, and eventually got to it today, and...here I am. These developments are really exciting. I think I have mentioned that I've consolidated most of my blogging to WordPress where I've blogged for going on six years. I recently moved from one of their packages to a self-hosted site - paid for in Steem and hosted by Steemian @gmuxx. The prospect of being able to offer an easy way for readers to sign up for Steemit is something I welcome. Bearing in mind that not all my readers are interested in Steem or crypto platforms (even though I think they should be...). Which brings me to @traciyork's concern and which is also mine:

To start, we will require that the referred account has a proper blog, has produced content for at least a few months already, have a decent following on social media (5k+ on at least one platform), and ideally also reached an Alexa rating in the top 1 million.

I agree with "proper blog" and your qualification. It's the

decent following on social media (5k+ on at least one platform)

IMHO unless you buy followers, or blog 24/7, this is not going to happen - I'm pretty active, but not as active as Traci and, for example @jaynie, but I have a really long way to go on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to reach these numbers - and I run multiple accounts.

also reached an Alexa rating in the top 1 million.

And, pardon my ignorance, who or what is Alexa? Again, like Traci, I've no clue my rating here...

I look forward to these developments and being able to blog from a single, user-friendly interface.

Finally, thank you for this outline - to which I want to return and absorb, properly - and for Steempress. Steempress has made a phenominal difference to my Steem life - to which I want to devote more time.

Fiona

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to read the post and offer such great feedback!

Perhaps I didn't make it clear enough, but the requirements/guidelines set for blogs are only for those that we'll be giving a free Steem account + delegate our own STEEM to through the referral program. Obviously, we cannot afford to do this to an infinite, nor very large, number of blogs without additional support. Thus, those guidelines are there to limit how this could otherwise be abused, or quickly wasted.

For the followers of your blogs, they'll be able to either earn their way to a free Steem account through making comments that authors like yourself and others like, or by getting a Steem account themselves to log in with. Alternatively, if they just want to post comments on your blog then they might not even need a Steem account, but of course we all want them to eventually do so.

In any case, if you're interested in helping bring more creators and bloggers to Steem through our referral program, I'm comfident that we can help bring those that you refer onboard either way. I'll be happy to talk with you directly through DIscord or other channels if so.

Alexa rating is simply a ranking based on how much traffic goes to a website (unique site visitors, clicks, etc).

And finally, I'm very happy to hear that we're making something that you enjoy using! It is of course our first objective :)

@frederikaa

Thanks so much for taking the time to reply, and for explaining (probably again) the challenges of delegating steem to new accounts. Of course, that makes sense, and perhaps #justthinkingaloud you and @howo might want to do that in campaigns e.g. for the first 10 to sign up and then again in a second wave, etc., as you build up/maintaing a pot of Steem that can be delegated.

And.

This has really made me excited:

For the followers of your blogs, they'll be able to either earn their way to a free Steem account

For folk for whom Steem is expensive, this is a great idea. I know that for me, sitting in South Africa where, as at today's rates 1SBD is more than 10 in our currency, it's something that has to be carefully considered. Expecially when one is trying to convert skeptics to crypto. This latter really applies among folk my age and demographic (50+) who blog for a hobby and for whom all of this crypto stuff is mumbo jumbo they'd rather ignore.

Just a few thoughts.

Look forward to the new developments! :)

Finally, and TMI - because life off steemit has been so busy, I've neglected my blog...and haven't posted in a while