Goodbye, a 50 Word Story

in #steempress5 years ago

"But--"

"No. You've got to go." I looked into her eyes one last time and handed over the bag containing our meager supplies.

Enough for Anna to make it out of the desert. Hopefully.

My hand covered her rounded stomach as we kissed.

"Goodbye, Anna. Take care of our daughter."

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

This fifty word story was originally inspired by another prompt, but it fitted Jayna's prompt nicely, so there you go.

As always, dear reader, thank you for joining me on all of my journeys, near and far.

Hugs

Jasmine


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/12/14/goodbye-a-50-word-story/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner.

My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.

For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.

We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.

But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.
We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted. We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.

We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.

As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.

If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.

If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.





Steemitramble




Steemitengine
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Yeesh! There's so much intensity and... well, beef in so few words. I had so many questions by the end of it (not bad questions but, like, I want more questions)! Nicely done!

I'll take that as a compliment. 😎

It was one :P

Great little story here @jasminearch. Brings an image of the old west to mind.

Thanks @cizzo. That was the image I got too!

Excellent work, as usual. You will soon make your first pro sale. I have no doubt.

I'll just keep going until I do. Queue position 217 at Strange Horizons. sigh

This is amazing, @jasminearch. It was a total gut-punch. You've captured the intensity and drama of that no-win situation so beautifully. Really well done!

Thank you, @jayna. Hugs

Hugs back!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Loved the argument and your narrative, @jasminearch. Your story definitely deserved to win.

I could see the scene happening before my eyes. I heard the voices. Great job :)

Thanks! We work hard at polishing them, over at @ink-ubator. Nice to know it pays off.

Congratulations @jasminearch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey, just wanted to say Merry Christmas and wishing you and yours all the best for the New Year!

Posted using Partiko Messaging