The Winter Wolf...

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


The Howl of The Wolves


Heh there...

I have done a couple of OCR's now. The first was a last minute on the day sign up at The Devil Mud Run and the second was again one I found out about on the morning and I used it to help my daughter in pre training for her Kids Spartan Run.

So... this was a nice change to actually turn up and be prepared for what was ahead. The other thing different about this run was that I was doing it in a group albeit 4 of us 6 I had never met before.

Set in the grounds of the beautiful Stanford Hall this 10k combination of mud running, trail running and obstacles was sure to be the toughest one I had taken on.

I had heard previously that there were sections that you would have to swim in, which if you have read some of my other posts you will know that swimming is not a strong point for me...

Luckily there were alternative routes for non or weak swimmers, which were longer but a lot warmer than the winter water the others had to take...

The Wolf Pack

Well I have to say that running in a group was certainly entertaining and there were more people to help keep you motivated, although most people help everyone else anyway...

Here is a before and after shot of the group I ran with..

Wolf run begin and end 2018

Wolf Seasons

This was an eye opener for me, mainly because of the weather changing from the previous ones I had ran. The Winter Wolf was tough with the cold water obstacles we found ourselves battling, so who knows what the others must have felt having to actually swim in the cold too...

However there are 4 seasons of the year and The Wolf Run have a course for each of them check out the 2019 calender to date:

2019 Events

Spring Wolf Midlands

SATURDAY 13 APRIL £55.00

SUNDAY 14 APRIL £55.00

Offchurch Bury, Warwickshire - Enter by: Sun, 24 Mar

Summer Wolf Midlands

SATURDAY 1 JUNE £55.00

SUNDAY 2 JUNE £55.00

Stanford Hall, Leicestershire - Enter by: Sun, 12 May

Autumn Wolf Midlands

SATURDAY 7 SEPTEMBER COMING SOON

SUNDAY 8 SEPTEMBER COMING SOON

Offchurch Bury, Warwickshire - Enter by: Sun, 18 Aug

Winter Wolf Midlands

SATURDAY 2 NOVEMBER COMING SOON

SUNDAY 3 NOVEMBER COMING SOON

Stanford Hall, Leicestershire - Enter by: Sun, 13 Oct

Next years challenge

You also have the chance to receive the accolade of Alpha Wolf Status. For this you must have completed an event in each season of the calendar year. Something I am hoping to attempt in 2019...

On a final note see here how much fun this looks in the video below and if anyone is up for the challenge and would like to join me on any of the races please feel free to reply to this post or fill in the contact form below..

[contact-form subject="The Wolf Run"][contact-field label="Name" type="name" required="1" /][contact-field label="Email" type="email" required="1" /][contact-field label="Comment" type="textarea" required="1" /][/contact-form]

 

 

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://pathtosomewhere.com/2018/11/03/the-winter-wolf/