You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemPress vision, 2018 roadmap, going full-time and launching witness @steempress

in #steempress6 years ago

Congratulations @howo and @fredrikaa on this big move! Leaving your meatspace jobs to build on Steem full-time is a huge risk, and you're taking it because you believe in this community and our future. That is precisely the kind of attitude a witness should have, and therefore I've approved your witness.

I have been following SteemPress for a while now and have been using it myself on https://lemony.cricket, as well as hosting a couple of blogs for other people who are building their own web presences. I believe we should all be grateful for what Steemit has done for Steem, but I have believed for a while now that it is not the best way to interact with the platform.

The problem with Steemit as a "main" frontend is that even though I honestly kinda like the design (especially that night mode, mmmm), I have to admit that I have objectively terrible taste. That aside, Steemit has limitations. You just can't do the things you want to do with formatting much of the time, and it's really just a hassle to try to add any individuality.

SteemPress changes that in a big way. You can add themes and more formatting (though I still find myself having to edit on the blockchain, I think this is more of a weakness for Steemit than SteemPress), and just feel a lot more like you "own" the place.

Congratulations again on this step, kudos to @jesta for relinquishing that account name for you guys. I wish you many years of success on Steem, and I can't wait to see what you guys build in the coming months.