You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flambé Vegetarians & Vegans! : Why are they Hated On So Much?

in #steempress5 years ago

Yes, totally agree that it's media/social media that inflames the issue. You're like my husband - he simply CANNOT digest plants as well, and it's not for want of trying - he's so limited in what he can eat, so it's not fair to penalise him or attack him for what is necessary for his survival. Humans have been eating meat a long time. I dont even really think that's the problem, I think it's the WAY we farm meat that's the problem.

Me too, I was quite wary about posting this as I worried I'll lose people here that I quite like, simply because I'm not vego/vegan. You DO feel under attack for eating meat.

And yeah, everyone here is super nice about it and we have intelligent and empathetic conversations, but that's been my lovely experience of STeemit so far. If it was Facebook, I'm sure there would be memes and jokes and cruelty!

Gosh, saying that they should just die makes them total hypocrites, doesn't it? How can you care for one life but not another? If you are asking people for understanding, that's not the way to go about it!

And ugh, yes, those lamb ads generated a lot of controversy - that's their modus operandi. We wait every January to see who they'll offend next. The last one however wasn't bad, they managed to suprise everyone with a message of diversity in Australia. They went a bit far with the burning of the vegan apartment!