VIDEO REVIEW... ETIENNE DUPONT CIDER..... MY FIRST OFFICIAL VLOG!

in #steempub7 years ago

Well, I have been wanting to start doing video blogs, but have been hesitant. As many of you know, I am as untechnical as it gets. I don't edit, I only have an iPhone and a little digital camera, and I'm a little self-conscious about being on video for some reason. LOL! Today I finally got around to kicking myself in the butt and turned the video camera on. This is a review of the Etienne Dupont Organic Cidre Bouché Brut de Normandie 2012, a really nice French dry Cider. This is more of a Champagne-style cider, nice and dry, with great bubbles. I hope you enjoy the video!

Here is the bottle shot...

IMG_0032.JPG

Thanks for checking out my very first video!! I think that this might be my new way of reviewing wine and doing my posts. It's so much easier for me to sit and spout off my knowledge, rather than try to write it all out. I have always been a better speaker than a writer, but it might take a few videos under my belt to get my style down. Much like many great wines are unfiltered and unfined, these videos will be totally unedited.... they will be as natural as it gets.

Thanks for all of the support that y'all give me. I really appreciate everyone that has helped get #steempub going, I can't thank you all enough! Unfortunately lately, my real life has gotten in the way of me having fun on Steemit, but things are back to normal, and I'll be posting, commenting, and curating regularly again starting today.




CHEERS FROM TEXAS!!

steemit logo.png@thewinemansteemit logo.png

If you are looking for other wine, beer, and cocktail posts, you should check out #STEEMPUB! Booze reviews and how-to's from all around the world. Just click the pic below!!
small steempub blue.png
Design by @malicered

Sort:  

I really appreciate your first vlog. I am not much of a cider guy like you, but when I have visited the U.K. I got to try a few really good ones. This one would be attractive to me as I am not a fan of the sweetness of most American cidersi have tried.

Wow! This looks delicious :) @thewineman

it was a great cider, thanks for stopping by!

Great bro

Thank you!

Good review mate, I enjoyed watching it!
I do like my dry ciders as well, can't stand the sickly sweet stuff. Try and get some good perry as well, I think you'll enjoy it.

I have a couple of perry's that I want to try, I'll get some soon. Thanks for watching!

I love ciders. I really started loving Angry Orchard, but now I'm branching out to the dryer ciders and I'm discovering that I like them a little more. Great video! I enjoyed watching it. I'll have to try that cider. I think I would like the champagne style.

The main reason I was steered towards it was because of the Champagne style. You should try it, it really good. Thanks for watching!

Looks interesting and I bet hit the spot. The label confused me - isn't beer itself organic?

My beer guy gave me a tech sheet for the 2014 organic. He said the same standards for the 2012...

The apples and the techniques used to make the cider are in conformity with European standards relating to organic agriculture, "Bio UE". The apples are entirely untreated. In addition, the Organic Cider is unpasteurised - as other Domaine Dupont ciders.

Terroir: sandy soil.
Varieties:
70% of bittersweet apples
30% of acid apples
Harvesting:
from October to November
Alcohol content:
5.5 % vol.
Techniques used:
Controlled fermentation in stainless steel vats. Indigenous yeasts. The fermentation is controlled by successive racking. The cider is unpasteurised. Bottled between May and April.
Density (O.G.): 1054 after pressing, equivalent to 112 g of sugar per litre. 1016 when bottled, which gives 5.5% alcohol after bottle fermentation has finished.

I was thinking the same thing when I first saw the label. I think that the apples are farmed organically, but I have no proof. I 'll look into it. Thanks for the comment!

From the vid I remember @thewineman saying they're also marketing it as organic because they use a wild yeast. But just like with organic honey, this cannot be proved, unless all the bees have been collecting 100% of the pollen from plants you know for sure to be organic; and it is a lot more difficult to track yeast particles through air currents than bees, I would say impossible but who knows.
Beer itself, can be organic but most often isn't. In the US for example I'm sure a lot of the grains come from GMO crops(nothing bad with this in my opinion), the yeast is cultured and probably fed with sugars from non organic sources, etc etc.
I myself put absolutely no weight/importance on the organic label, it really means nothing at all when you break it down. It's the pesticides that are the issue, not the minerals we feed plants with.

I just posted the notes on the organic label. We have people ask for organic wine, ad have to do a lot of explaining about "which organic do you want?"Organically grown grapes, or organically made wine, to get both is really rare. Many vineyards grow organically, but still use sulfites during winemaking. I am pro-sulfites, they help prevent oxidation, but I can see why people don;t want them. Realistically, I just want a great product.

Thanks for the great comment!