SteemRally - A purposed Spirited driving experience for Steemfest Motorhead Attendees!

in #steemrally7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow steemian petro heads :) This post is primarily to gauge interest in a concept for steemfest. This idea has been thought about chatting with @firepower, another huge motor head. SteemRally concept was brainstormed from a huge passion of mine in performance vehicles and spirited driving. What better way to be a motorhead but at steemfest and in Portugal.

SteemRally is definitely geared toward motor heads to experience Portugual in a spirited driving experience, making a few key stops at great cities, local coffee and quick bites.

The purposed drive would take us from the heart of Lisbon, down to Lagos, which looks to be a beautiful beach area with stunning rock formations. The goal is to keep the entire cruise to roughly 6-8 hour roundtrip.

Here's the quick details:

Concept Rally Route

Performance vehicles

There's a few ways we can handle the vehicles. At a minimum I'd like to secure a group of BMW 2-Series/Manual transmission vehicles. If you get automatic coffee is you on ;) Based on estimates we can expect $80-$100/USD a day per vehicle. If you'd like to splurge and get something more exotic great.

Expecting to get to GumBall 3000 level is not going to happen right away, but having vehicles showing up completely wrapped with custom graphics is a vision I'd love to see materialize at a future steemfest.


Could this be what a future steemfest ride looks like?

Some of the sights we'll see along the way

Gauging interest and if it's looking good, I'll start locking down the details, times(Doing best to avoid as much key time from other steemfest activities), and working with the rental provider to secure a large patch of sporty cars and hopefully discounted rates.

Currently this is a concept but going well, something I'd like to keep growing and coordinate for future steemfest's. I'm not sure if we can get to the size of Gumball 3000, but we certainly can keep trying.

Time for steemian motor heads to unite.

-- originate

Sort:  

Awesome idea - count me in @originate

this is fucking epic.

you could for example do this very well on the saturday 4th of november, its the slowest day of the program with mainly DIY stuff? Sunday I would rather not do it as it also has the closing dinner.

Great suggestion @roelandp, it's become the date, seems to be the right fit as you noted.

Nice , very interesting steemrally

YES what a great idea!

I live in Australia and have thought about doing something like this myself, but you have taken it to another level.

Depending on when you are going to do it I may consider, but I would have to fly half way around the world. What are hotel prices like over there? How long would it take to do that run?

You have my full support even if I can't make it, good luck with it, its an exciting idea, probably the best thing I've seen here so far.(only been here for 1 month)

Please keep us updated!

Ooh! Now that looks like an awesome Road-Trip!

I've just spoken to @s0u1 about it and as long as we don't miss too many seminars, we'll share the driving between us.

We're there from Tuesday to Monday.

Looking forward to catching up with you!

that is right.
im sorry i started not too long ago and i been writhing good articles but i have not too mush fallowers i want to know if you can take a look at it and if you like it help me and pump me up reesteeming one of my posts

@michelle.gent Awesome, and definitely want to limit conflicting with events. Will plan out more details shortly.

You will see from my posts I am up for anything driven. Water is going to be quite cheap for the Steem powered cars.

1905 Steam powered race car

You'll be driving that on your own, I'm afraid. I like more comfort in my convertibles ;)

It's a single seater . Get your own.

I am up for anything driven. Water will be very shoddy for the Steem fueled autos.

What a great idea! Even a few Steemobiles would attract some interest.

Nice idea... but it would take longer than 6-8 hours for the trip in one of these... :D

Nice post

Looks like a super fun route, wish I still had my Miata...

hi great steem rally im in.
by the way i started not too long ago and i been writhing good articles but i have not too mush fallowers i want to ask you for help and pump me up reesteeming one of my posts

love that ccccccar

Stay safe bros!

Good post and great idea, if you like cars I encourage you to visit my profile.

Mate this idea is awesome. This really shows that you not only care about steemit relationships but to also transport them to real life and to be friends with steemians with your same interests. I would love to join you, I have a motorbike back home and I love to hit the road, unfortunately I have to go all the way from Mexico to Lisbon and appart from that, budget wise I can´t spend the money it may cost to join you on your route.

If I win a contest for which I just made a post a few hours ago, I will have locked in my entry ticket and if said post makes a good amount of cash I will be able to buy my plane ticket.

I hope to meet you there on SF and hear everything about the motorheads-roadtrip-to-steemfest!

Thanks @anomadsoul! I think a contest to give someone a free rental for the steemrally is a great idea, I would love to see someone get to enjoy that

Be certain I would definitely participate to win that one! Sounds like so much fun and a great deal of adrenaline which is something we sometimes lack living in the city. Ill be on the lookout for that one! hahah

I would say that's two of us so far with you but we will share a car. I did see a nice Ferrari 599 available to hire at around €600/day. 😀

@s0u1 that's actually not a bad price!

Wow!!! Amazing.

Yes!!!!

@originate Thank you for obtaining this out..

@originate Thanks for your work sir.... Love it.

Ok :)) If I have more steem, I come too :) I am from Estonia :)

Wow @originate freaking awesome fun idea if only I had the money for this as I will hopefully be going steemfest this year..hmm well time to get steeming.

Yeahh in the future we bring all our steemit sports cars..

Hey nice idea! ... but your first photo is from Cuba ;)

dude, that's an awesome idea. is it cars only, or might 2 wheeled attendees be acceptable too? ;-)
HA

Very informative post. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. please upvote and follow me i really need help growing on steemit..