My Renovated Braai/BBQ/Gas Hybrid Complete!!

in #steemsa4 years ago

Hey everyone, every once in a while I get a bee in my proverbial bonnet to undertake a super cool project, for the month of January this was it. My Conversion/Renovation of a really old gas braai that I purchased for R50 $3 odd.

This was such a sweet deal, it cost me around R1000 to purchase paint, screws and other miscellaneous materials for this rebuild, but it turned out really nice if I may say so myself....

IMG-20200130-WA0016.jpg

Check out my first blog here where I posted all the before pics, quiet a decent transformation right?

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@craigcryptoking/renovating-and-converting-a-really-old-gas-braai-bbq

IMG-20200130-WA0015.jpg

IMG-20200130-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20200130-WA0012.jpg

Looking pretty suave right? Did you check the before pics as a decent comparison? The thinking on this unit was to make a hybrid in that I could do a traditional wood-fire and or gas if the mood arose, the reason for this was two fold, I enjoy a wood-fire but so nice to have the convenience of gas, with two gas burners totally rusted and not usable simple is that side for the wood fire, worked out just perfectly!

IMG-20200130-WA0005.jpg

20200127_145840.jpg

The wheels were an issue of 'contention' especially for my landlord. BOET Vat De F$#k is daai Taxi Wheels op daai ding? Brother what on Earth are those horrid Taxi Wheels on that braai? He hated the white wall wheels. To be honest he was right something was out of place for sure, so I listened to him and sprayed them full black. Much better right?

IMG-20200130-WA0010.jpg

Now with all the loadshedding drama back in South Africa (my RSA friends here will understand) I am not able to cook no matter what on my newly renovated gas/woodfire braai hybrid. So excited and at the ripe young age of 40 my first braai/BBQ to boot, small steps in the right direction, great success, Blessed.

Have an amazing weekend.
Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Awesome job. I have one i am wanting to do.

@splatz worthy

You have awoken me from my slumber... step aside, it’s Splattin’ time

Thanks bruv appreciate that. Cheer$;)

Hey @craigcryptoking
Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
A705B77C-E8CA-4B64-85B0-B6D2A965FBE9.gif
@jlsplatts original
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!
SPLATZ info

Appreciate that brother thanks a mil! Cheer$;)

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.033 which ranks you at #3940 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 3945).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 91 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 390000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @craigcryptoking!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 7 with 855 upvotes