Mercury Silver Dime

image.jpeg

It has been a whooping four years since I started working at a liquor store. Never did I imagine that silver would be dropping between my fingers and into another customers hands or into the till.

I feel quite lucky that my brother Hratch, Jangala Designs, got me into silver.

During the summer I began acquiring some. About two months ago I was looking through a roll of dimes before blinding dropping it into the dime section of the drawer.

I was shocked by what I found. If anything, I would have expected to find the typical silver piece that one would possibly find these days.

Instead, I found this beautiful Mercury coin. She's a true beauty and I'd like to keep her as long as I can.

While the woman on the coin is actually our lady liberty, she looks like the goddess, Giving her the name, Mercury. This one in particular is from 1936! I never knew that these even existed! At first I was questioning if it was real. After doing tests and research, I was imursed in her beauty!

image.jpeg

Sort:  

I still check my change every time I spend cash.

I rate the Mercury and Peace the 2 most Beautiful designs in US mint history!!! Stack On...:)

I've never heard of Peace. Looks like I should look it up! But yes, the Mercury is simply enchanting.

The Mercury dime is a beautiful coin! Great find!

Nice find! Good for you checking through them.

I love the Mercs! I have several of these myself! :)

Great find, great story, I will keep an eye out for you @elizabethleaf by following you.

Free Silver! Nice, congratz. Feels good to find, doesn't it?