225th US mint liberty

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6771.JPG

I'm guessing the US mint is having trouble moving this coin since i keep getting emails and brochures from them trying to hype it.

I never found the coin to be very pleasing to the eye.... but the insaine premium is what turned me off most to the coin. I guess it did a lot of others as well.

Did any of you pick this up? Do you like it? Do you think it's premium is worth it or the coin will appreciate?

I have my doubts on anything positive for this coin and will continue to pass on it.

Sources: picture from usmint.gov

Sort:  

When buying coins, you have to know your own rationale. Is it:

For the beauty?
For the value of the bullion?
For the numismatic value (i.e. rarity)?
To complete a collection?
For some personal desire which is none of the above?

For me these coins don’t seem to have numismatic value, and with a premium, there are better bullion coins. Sounds like the beauty isn’t there.

Lol exactly, this is a great logical checklist to go through for a coin... and yeah it didnt pass mustard on any of them for me

It's been many years since I've bought anything from the U.S. Mint (other that silver and gold eagles/buffalos). I'm just not interested in their offerings anymore.

They spent all of that effort to create the 50 state quarter set, you'd think they could come up with a companion to the Silver Eagle that changes on a yearly basis (I still like ASE's but also something different would be nice).

I agree, something like that would be cool

I agree, something like that would be cool

I like this design for its beauty. I wanted to buy it as a gold ounce. However, I did think the premium was way too high. I also wasn't buying a full ounce anyway. If I was going to buy a gold ounce this was the one I would get.
When the Silver version came out, I bought it immediately without hesitation. It had a premium that was also way too high. But at least it was in the realm of affordability.
Along the same lines I was able to buy a silver Krugerrand which also had a very high premium.

i like kurgerands.... i would have bought some but i tend to prefer coins over rounds (since i dont think they have a monetary value they are more like a round)

follow me and vote me and will do the some we will help each OK friend

@bharath1070: This comment is for your benefit so you don't find others downvoting or flagging you.

I have noticed that you have made a number of very short comments on other blogs, which are similar in style to the one above. They don’t really add anything to the discussion of the topic.

Please help keep Steemit free of spam posts.

If you like a post, it is generally sufficient to upvote it unless you want to join in the debate.

Short comments like “awesome”, “nice post” “amazing post” or “really helpful” are generally not seen as part of the debate on the topic ,and if repeated across multiple posts, may be interpreted as spam.

Asking other people to upvote or follow you is also counter-productive and irritating. They may downvote, mute, or flag you.

Downvotes or flags can lower your reputation, can result in the removal of rewards, and may result in your posts not being seen by others.

Don’t worry, I haven’t flagged or downvoted you. I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt that you were genuinely trying to encourage the poster. An upvote would have been sufficient.

I often reward intelligent comments. I have a lot of Steempower. An upvote from me is worth hundreds of times a normal upvote. I hope I can reward you for intelligent and thought provoking posts in the future.

(Other bloggers, please let me know whether you agree or disagree with my comment. If you disagree, feel free to upvote the suspected spammer....)

@fem-of-war ty for the upvote, God bless you

https://discord.gg/3AuY8Xew join catholic memes server if you want