A Thank You, Steem Voter, Name Dropping, Goals, and Just Generally Talking to Myself

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! I am just going to ramble tonight. Strangely, the few times I have done this, the posts fared quite well in both engagement and upvotes. On to my ramble...

It is no secret that I love the shiny, and with that, the #steemsilvergold community. It is seriously a great group of people. I am so happy that they give me an excuse to talk about silver. Outside of my family, I have maybe talked silver with 2 or 3 people in my life. Now I have the excuse to write about it until my heart is content. In the words of Dennis Locorriere of Dr. Hook, "Before we begin, thank you! Thank you o' thank you, thank you...thank you!". If you know this reference, let me know. I grew up on Dr. Hook!

pitobverse.jpg

Shameless plug for @pit-bullion... and the shiny that is currently to my right.

Being a part of such a group does have its responsibilities. You need to show Stax, the beloved SSG bot, some love. She loves two things, shiny and sweet 100% upvotes. While I was good at upvoting all of her posts with full power, I missed a few. Enter Steem Voter! I have been playing around with this a bit and I think I have an ok mix, but I would love your suggestions. It is keeping my voting power high, but guaranteeing that I hit @silvergoldbotty, @thealliance, @themothership, and @steemusa with 100% votes. I am giving 20% votes to about 20 people. I'd love to hear how many folks you have on your auto voting accounts. Do you think I can safely add another 10 or 20 while still occasionally manually curating?

If you use one of these services, do you find you commonly have to remove your vote, in order to vote higher? I had this happen in two instances today. This one just happened. I manually gave a big vote to a post by @owenwat then a couple of minutes later, Steem Voter changed it to 20%. However, normally when you change your vote, it shows changing it to 0%, then to the new percentage. Steem Voter was able to change it without ever moving it to 0%. Another plug, he was posting a fundraiser for the 2018 #steemsilverround. Want to donate an upvote, go here. Owen, I changed it back to 100%.

The other instance was I wanted to give @thedamus a big ol' upvote for reaching 1,500 followers and to enter his contest for not one but TWO Steem rounds. Want to try to win, go here. Oh, and if you read this far, tell me who Dr. Hook's original (and totally famous for another reason) songwriter is and I'll add you to my Steem Voter account for a while. This is limited to the 1st person who gets it right.

Do you actively set goals for your Steem / SBDs? I think I now know what I want to do, at least temporarily. I think my near term magic goal is 1,060 SBD. Now where did that come from? 500 to keep the slider, 500 to hopefully up my delegation to Botty (to get to Nickel status), and 60 for the Mothership delegation (it's almost time for takeoff). Now it's on the blockchain, so I can't take them back. That leaves me needing to earn about $100 in the next couple of weeks. Can I do it? This post should help out ☺

Well the weekend is almost over and you are probably tired of hearing me babble. So until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

TL:DR - Dr. Hook is a great 70s band and you should probably check them out.

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

Shel Silverstein and Yes I saw Dr. Hook Live in the 70's. I am that OLD.......

@stokjockey - It's hard to add you to my Steem Voter...when you were already on there. Have a 100% vote for now.

SJ.JPG

I am jealous that you saw them live. I have a lot of memories of my dad putting on his Sloppy Seconds record and dancing and singing around the house. I was just sad that by the time I reached adulthood, they stopped playing shows in the US. I had wanted to take him to see Dr. Hook live (at least with Ray), but he has since passed.

@mikeshuh I was at this Show Live when I was 14 years old at Jack Murphy Stadium all day Concert
November 12, 1972: San Diego Stadium, San Diego, CA with J. Geils Band, Foghat, Jesse Colin Young, Dr. Hook and The Medicine Show, Boones Farm "First Annual KGB Charity Ball"
Also Jim Croce and Quick Silver Messenger Service played too...............
It was the Very First Time I smoked POT when people were passing joints through crowd. It was one hell of an experience for a 14 year old kid................Oh by the way tickets to this show were $1.01 because KGB was 101FM

That is an awesome lineup! Who was considered the headliner?

I would say most people were there to see FOGHAT

@thedamus will appreciate this..........

I had to put them on....f'n classic

Damn, they are an ugly bunch... but they sure do rock!

Thanks for the shameless plug 😂 I definitely set goals my man. I have stuck to the SSG community exclusively but I've heard a lot about the alliance. Might have to check it out

@pit-bullion you should checkout FOGHAT in the comment I made above to @mikeshuh

Love the pitbullion silver bar. Very novel, unique!

Wesley, the guy that pours these is very active on Steemit. You can check out his stuff at http://www.pitbullionlv.com/

I have about 23 auto votes set up. Most are 10-15% depending on how often they post. That keeps me (usually) just over 90%vp to keep me on the cover of the rolling stone.

I see what you did there. If my voting power stays high, I may bump everyone to 25% and see what happens.

I never understood their name Dr Hook and the Medicine show. Only now I could look it up on internet. All we saw of them here was in the programm toppop ;no not top of the posp but dutch toppop. It is all on YT now these old songs of toppop. Sexy eyes etc

Y-T is great for watching live recordings of old bands. Just listening to Dr. Hook while writing this, I discovered an "original recording" of a song I knew. It was slightly different than the album version and awesome to a hear a new version of a song I've known since I was a kid.

Interesting post. I tried to use steemvoter but it just didn't happen for me
Currently, I'm working with steem auto so far

This post has received a 1.15% upvote from thanks to: @mikeshuh.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.