Well, that was unexpected. I just got my pocket piece... and inheritance.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

The other day I was looking through "money pictures" with my neice (still looking for something mickey mouse for her that isn't rediculously over spot, can anyone give tips?) and my mom overheard my interest in collecting silver.

Flash forward to today and I hear "Catch! An early birthday gift from your grandpa."
0205181850.jpg

An old 1 troy oz engelhard. Wow. I plan on cherishing this. I was really close to my grandpa, he filled in as my father figure. And I still feel really guilty for losing his wheaties and indian head collection he gave me when I was 18.

Well this little hunk of metal won't be lost.

Sort:  

All those talks around the Thanksgiving dinner table paid off after all talking about PM investing. Cherish those memories and that new pocket silver....great story, thanks for sharing

Ha, thankfully I get to see my family more often than holidays. I moved out to the countryside and eventually got my sister and mom to follow. Now I'm working on remaining grandparents and cousins. #geteveryoneoutofdetroit

One relative at a time, eventually they wake-up to what is fed to them from the lame stream media and government fake statistics........

Awesome. It's a great old classic bar, but best of all it was Granddad's!

Yep, I now have some of that "generational wealth" people talk about.

That's a great story. The cheapest Mickey Mouse coin I've seen is the 2017 Niue Steamboat Willie coin. Looks like you can get it at apmex or JM Bullion. Everywhere else looks sold out.

Thanks, I'll look into it! I want to get her some silver that she would enjoy, but toddlers are smart. They know that if you can't touch it, you don't own it. So collectables are out.

How cool is that! A really nice silver bar with a very special sentimental story attached to it.

Yeah, I wasn't expecting that. PMs are already a semi-emotional investment, so it kinda got doubled up for me.