My Gold Stack - Part 4 Of 4 - Gold Proof Dragon Coins

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Part 4 of 4 of my stack posts is all about Gold Proof Dragon Coins



These Coins Are My Most Expensive Gold Buys, Premium wise.

20180417_105415.jpg

Fact Is, most dragon Coins usually do carry a premium whether it be in silver or gold.
Especially once they all sold out at the mints or dealers.
Some gold dragon coins are not as easy to find as the silver equivalents.
It's understandable really when you think about it.
The mintages are generally a lot lower than in silver and add the appeal of dragons especially gold ones and the desire for them in the Asian market and just finding some is hard.
Some virtually Impossible, like those made in Asia.

20180417_105550.jpg

These coins I bought directly from the Perth Mint & The Royal Mint.

20180417_105622.jpg

Normally I don't buy Outside the EU, but as gold is tax-free, it can be bought from anywhere, unlike silver.
Also now Royal Mail have been privatised, they only too happy to inform customs. So that they get their extortionate fee. So I avoid buying silver outside the EU for this reason. It's also one of the reason's I don't buy any poured stuff, which sux big time.

So on to the first coins, yep coins


The Perth mint had a deal on postage. If you spent a certain amount you got free international postage. They still do it today, Free Shipping Worldwide on all orders over $400, which is great.

20180417_105829.jpg

I was checking out the proof lunar 2 monkeys back in 2016, as you do. When I noticed they had older proof coins available at the same price as the 2016 monkey proofs, the 2015 goat, 2014 horse, 2013 snake and the 2012 dragon.

20180417_105931.jpg


I couldn't believe it, so I grabbed 2 of the dragons. They were not on the site a few weeks before when I first had a look at the monkey and I was going to buy 2 of those, but if you can get older coins for the same price as new ones, Odds are they have equity in them already and you won't have to wait as long for them to mature. It's often something I do a lot buy older coin, say kooks or koala's etc, that around the price of current releases.

20180417_110357.jpg


The Dragons didn't last long, so I'm really glad I snapped them up when I did. One for the dragon collect and one to sell at some point. All the others sold out not long after the dragons.

20180417_110840.jpg

Deals like that don't come along often. So when they do you need to pull the trigger fast.

20180417_110317.jpg

I did find out though that they didn't mint or sell the full mintage in 2012 of the dragons and minted them later. but to understand that we need to take a look at their Mintage policy its available in full here https://www.perthmint.com/mintage_policy.aspx

20180417_111432.jpg

For MAXIMUM MINTAGE coins:
Once the MAXIMUM MINTAGE is reached, the coin is pronounced ‘sold out’ and no further coins are minted. If a coin is not sold out, the mintage will remain open until such time it becomes sold out (MAXIMUM MINTAGE is reached), unless:
i. The coin is offered for sale for a specified time period only; or,
ii. The market no longer has any interest in the coin
In either case, The Perth Mint will close-off production and declare the mintage (DECLARED MINTAGE) at the appropriate time.

20180417_111610.jpg


It did upset a few people, going back and minting more coins up to the max mintage, but for me it was a good opportunity, to get a dragon coin at such a great price.

20180417_111539.jpg

A close up of the dragon to wrap this coin up

20180417_111651.jpg

The next coin, which is the most expensive coin I have ever bought.

20180417_121645.jpg

It's from the Royal Mint, I bought it as soon as it was released. I'd been waiting for this coin ever since the Queens beast series started. The packaging on the Perth coin was good but this coin is on a whole different level.

20180417_121810.jpg

Premium packaging and so it should be, with the amount of £££ it cost to buy one

20180417_122010.jpg

Sometimes it's the overall packge, thats adds that exclusivity, you buying into.

20180417_122225.jpg

I do have another coa as I had to send back the first coin I received from RM and I kept that coa, The coin was so bad quality wise. It had dinks, scuff and scratches all over the coin and a proof should not be like that.
A lot of people sent them back, Then the replacement I got sent had issues as well...
I sent that back as well.
So guess it was a case of third time lucky or I just don't add it to the dragon collection.

20180417_122244.jpg

As you can see the mintage is only 1500 and they sold out pretty quick the coins wwereno longer listed on the website. I wasn't even sure I'd get another replacement

20180417_124035.jpg

So after 30 days nothing then suddenly with no Confirmation a package arrived.

20180417_124135.jpg

What a great coin it is, and I'm so happy to have this coin in my dragon collection.
MeInd welsh dragons go way back and they are the reason I collect dragons in the first place.

20180417_123925.jpg

It almost didn't happen as I had to send the first two coins back to RM. This ones not perfect but it's a lot better than the first 2 coins I recieved, So much better

20180417_123558.jpg

Even Queenie looks half decent.

20180417_123249.jpg

I don't care much about the side of a coin with the queen on it.

20180417_122854.jpg

All About this side of a coin the one with a great design on it.

20180417_124327.jpg

I may of overkilled this post with pics but when coins are this good, I just cannot help myself

A picture speaks a thousand words, truth be told this is a stunning design and it would of been real sad if it wasn't added to the dragon collection.
So just one more picture I will show

20180417_123830.jpg

That's it folks, you've seen all my gold



Coming soon my biggest ever order of silver



Please check out my other most recent post

A Real Nice Coin That's A Bit Special To Me - http://steem.link/0OdXz

My Gold Stack - Part 1 Of 4 - http://steem.link/5rnk6

My Gold Stack - Part 2 Of 4 - Golden Roo's & Nugget coins - http://steem.link/uKhcF

My Gold Stack - Part 3 of 4 - Five Gold Kookaburra's - http://steem.link/g1TLg

Please Follow me if you like the content @roxdude


Silver stackers hashtag #steemsilvergold and grow the silver stacking community

silvergoldfooter.png

Upvote Comment & Resteem

002.jpg

Thankyou

@roxdude
y

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

This ones not perfect but it's a lot better than the first 2 coins I recieved, So much better
.
It should be received instead of recieved.

I dunno why every time I tried to change it, it just reverted back. Grammarly I guess is not working. or it would be a lot worse.....

Ahh look at all those dragons 🐉. The packaging on the Royal Mint one is fancy. Glad they were finally able to send you one that wasn’t scuffed up too badly.

🐲🐲🐲🐲🐲🐉

Thx, yeah it's certainly is so much better. I also had to send back the 1oz silver proofs as they were the same poor quality. Their customer service ain't great either.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You put so many photos of these magnificent dragons just to make me envious. OK, I'm envious.

I just couldn't help myself, There was more pics that I took as well, but they didn't make the cut.
Sometimes a proof coin is just stunning, more so for me when it's a dragon.
Sorry if I made you envious, well I guess that's' part of the objective, To make the pics do the speaking for themselves. while I babble on about them...Thx for checking it out

Man that's some beautiful gold pieces. Thanks for sharing they are like works of art.

Indeed, To me, a dragon tops most coins and when you are buying these sort of coins which I don't do that often, you gotta like them and you just hope they everything you thought they would be. especially with the price they cost.

Congratulations @roxdude! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!