Silver Proof Krugerrand

50th Anniversary Krugerrand

IMG_2947.JPG

In 2017 the South African Mint Company released a silver Krugerrand to celebrate the 50 anniversary of the gold variety. This 1oz silver proof Krugerrand has a mintage of 15,000.

As yet i dont have the BU version (or sadly any gold versions) I do think the BU versions have been a bit overpriced from the initial release considering there are 1 million of them. I was late getting one of these and to be honest the coin didn't initally inspire me but Youtubes Shadow Stack pointed me in the right direction and i was able to pick one up for £125 and paid for it in 5 installments of £25 which made the coin affordable and i thought this one is worth while addition to the stack. The coin has grown on me somewhat and ive been enjoying seeing the value increse a little and has a gorgeous mirror finish and has a 50 privy mark over the springbok.

IMG_2995.JPG

Logo_La_Gazelle.jpg

Russ steemit logo 20.png

Sort:  

That proof finish really pulls it all together! I've got two of the BU version and they're stunning but I feel very overpriced and over minted. Great job on picking up the rarer proof example of such a cool coin!

I do want a BU but as you say overpriced and over minted but i still want one lol. This coin was a bit expensive but the 5 monthly payments just made it a worth while purchase, now its paid for i can enjoy it more :)

The proof finish is nice on that coin!

It was hard to photograph without my handsom face peering back through the mirror finish ;)

Nice Krug! The silver krugs are so cool, but I just can't bring myself to pay the premium even for the BU version!