A breath of fresh air..

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

It's amazing how distracting life can be. Family, work, and hobbies can take up an incredible amount of time. All because of that, I have really trying to work on balance. Today marked a great accomplishment for me!

I have owned a 1971 Stingray Corvette for about five years now. Working on this car was a great hobby I shared with my father growing up. Unfortunately, 5 years ago father abruptly passed away due to cancer. Ever since his lose, I was unable to enjoy or find the motivation to work on the vehicle. Every time I would look at it. It would just throw me into a flashback of the good ol days.

But, I decided today was going to be the day. I strongly believe my father would want me to make the best of this car and enjoy it with my growing family. It took me a few hours of topping off fluids and making adjustments. At the end of the night I got the car to turn over and start!

image
image

1971 Corvette Stingray 454 Big block. A royal blue body color with blue interior. It has a while convertible top. This was a full rotisserie restoration. All matching numbers. Even down the correct paint splash markings on each nut and bolt to match factory production. That was just the kind of person my father was.

It truly was an amazing experience getting this car back on the road. I fully intend on rolling through some local car shows this year with the kids. It's always important to stop and realize what is important! Creating new memories with the people you love.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

Cheers!

Sort:  

Beautiful car ingots. I have always loved corvettes (and esp Stingrays) ever since forever! And you got a real beauty there. Take it out and stomp that pedal down — your dad would surely approve. 😎👍

@thedamus That pedal will hitting the floor! Thank you for the kind words👊

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

@silveringots Yes that Baby needs to be on the Road !!!

The Corvette Stingrays are very nice cars! At one point, I thought about getting one that needed a little interior work, but never pulled the trigger on it. It looks like you and your father have done an amazing job on restoring it!!

They are certainly unique cars. My father was a perfectionist. This vehicle is a prime example of that.👍

Sweet vette, ready just in time for cruising season. You need to make a memorial ride

It is certainly ready just in time! I will be getting that ride in soon...🤘

This is a physical proof that love and old memories are always present in your life. Congrats for fulfilling your father's dream.

@ronaldoavelino Very well said. Thank you!

This is an excellent post. I enjoyed reading it. And yes, time management is always a challenge. It always requires periods of stopping to reprioritize and make decisions as to what is important! I look forward to your future posts and photos when this car finally goes to vintage car parades and car shows. Thank you for sharing this part of your life.

@silversaver888 Really appreciate your support! I will be sure to follow up on this article 👍