How do you buy gold without over paying

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemian,

When I first started my precious metal stacking, nobody was there to guide me on how to get the best price for my purchase and I really paid quite alot for most of my initial purchased😅 It was really an expensive lesson and today I'm going to share with you all my experience of buying gold bars so that new stackers can get more metal for their money.

Usually the smaller the bar the higher the premium, bullion seller can charge as high as 40% over spot for a 1 gram bar to as low as 1.2% over spot of a 100 gram bar. To get the daily spot price, you may wish to download apps "Gold Live!+" or Gold Price to reference the pricing before purchasing any gold bars.

1 Gram Bar
FullSizeRender (1).jpg
Bullion traders usually will charge 40%-42% over spot. If you can get it at 20%-25% over spot you should grab it 😁

2.5 Grams Bar
FullSizeRender (2).jpg
Bullion seller charges 30% over spot. Grab it if you can get it at 15%-20% over spot 😁

5 Grams Bar
FullSizeRender (3).jpg
Bullion seller charges about 18% over spot. Buy it at 10%-12% over spot 😁

10 Grams Bar
FullSizeRender (4).jpg
Bullion seller charges about 9% over spot. Buy it at 4%-6% over spot🤔

20 Grams Bar
FullSizeRender (5).jpg
Bullion seller charges about 5% over spot. Buy it 3% over spot if you can find 1🤔

1 Oz Bar
Sorry I don't have the 1 Oz bar in my stack so I can't show you guys a picture of it. All of my 1 Oz gold are in coin form.
Bullion seller charges about 3% over spot. I think it is hard to find prices this low already and usually stackers would go for the 1 Oz size bar🤔

50 Grams Bar
FullSizeRender (6).jpg
Bullion seller charges is the same as the 1 Oz bar but its better to get the 1 Oz if possible. This was my first gold bar but I think I paid close to 35 % over spot because I brought it from a jewelry shop. 😭

100 Grams Bar
Same as the 1 Oz bar I don't have a picture of it but usually for myself I wouldn't buy it because value is on the higher side.
Bullion seller charges about 1.2% over spot but when they buy back it maybe at spot or sometimes under spot price. 😅

For myself, I prefer the smaller 1 gram to 5 grams bar and usually I would do dollar down averaging. Each month I would set aside some of my salary to purchase precious metal and keep it as a form of saving. Remember to keep your precious metal with you in a secure place because if you don't hold it, you don't own it.

Please upvote and re-steem my post if you find it interesting and useful.
Thanks 😁

Sort:  

Thanks for the share! I feel like I learnt something new today! I'm such a noob when it comes to buying metals. Upvoted for you! =D

yeah, buying 1 oz or half an ounce is the way to go. Even if you have to save for a month. Patience wins at this game. Following