Bitcoin & Silver & Gold

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Bitcoin hit an all time high today, and is now worth more than $1 usd for every day of its lifespan (3136 days). Silver got kicked in the balls...

Hmmm, btc @ all-time high and silver is magnificently cheap. I had to satisfy the jones and take some winnings off the table...

I sold .22 for $920 to an atm -- it all took about 8 minutes -- and i was on my way to my lcs, via the bullion exchange (i know...i have issues lol).

After talking with @britcoin, i checked out gold sovereigns... and damn if i didn't buy one!

IMG_1840.JPG

And man o man does it go well with the silver version! The silver piece is one of my oldest coins, 30yrs+, and it has never looked so good. Once again i feel like i've stolen some treasure -- avast! lol

I also got some more silver "junk" which is one of the great oxymorons of all time!!!

20 x US half dollars:

IMG_1827.JPG

10 x pre-1964 Canoe Dollars:

IMG_1832.JPG

I got lucky with the light today. These pics were taken on the roof of my car, with a very hazy sun and some trees reflected in the bg. (The last few days it has been very smoky here due to many forest fires around the province.)
2 x 2017 Lynx (from predator series), and 2 x 150yr Anniversary privy, reverse proof Maples

IMG_1828.JPG

I also got this sweet 2oz Buffalo for "generic"

IMG_1835.JPG
IMG_1836.JPG
...side by side with a 1oz Maple
IMG_1838.JPG

And here's a close up of the Sovereign. It is a 1911-C, which means it was minted in Canada:

IMG_1839.PNG
IMG_1824.JPG

Some people may think i'm foolish to sell btc when its on such a roll, and i think i may be one of those people... but hey, bitcoin is ath, silver is multi-year low and at a historically perverse price to boot. Moreover, these amazing examples of specie are actually AVAILABLE. So what the hell! I probably won't be buying Silver when it hits over $50, but i will be buying and selling btc when its $10,000 per coin and above.

Bitcoin and Silver are different things: they DO different things, and behave differently from one another. But if there has ever been a better unified strategy for wealth preservation and augmentation then, please enter it here...

Cheers! from @thedamus

Sort:  

Bitcoin/Canadian Sov..Gold wins everytime man very great score there! I have one too after wanting one for a long time it felt so good when I scored it. Great shots, I think u did well bro 👊😎

Thanks @goldenarms. This site and good guys like you have inspired me to add to the pile and explore some different gold pieces. I usually have just bought gml's when i have bought gold in the past. The gold coins are VERY addictive!

Those are such beautiful photographs. And a great little success story of BTC. If the hard fork has only temporarily hyped the price up, you just did a very good thing. Either way, you now own some really nice things that can't devalue too much, realistically.

Win win baby! There is much enjoyment to be had with diversifying :)
Thanks for comment on pics too.
Cheers!

Wow, great looking pictures my friend, you caught the light just right. I'm still very "bullish" on silver and with these prices so should many more. Yes bitcoin is on a roll but I'm still on the fence if it's going to stand the test of time. It's a gamble which ever way you decide to go. For a quick profit, bitcoin offers the best return, I still don't think it's reached its ceiling but for wealth protection and multi generational longevity my money will always go on precious metals.

Sure is a pretty way to diversify :)
Thx for comment.

Nice pick ups man, I like the 2 oz buffalo. 2oz is a nice size to hold in the hand. Shot.

$43 cdn! Itsa fun coin alright

Awsome! Seems like a logical choice. Wish the manipulation would end but until then keep stacking

Cheers bro

Well bought! That sovereign is glorious, the big nickel is a cool find.

Thanks fat-elvis! I don't mind picking up the odd piece when it's selling for generic prices. It was $46 cdn no tax for 2oz, so i feel like it's a win.

Probably you are right, but your strategy doesnt have to be 'either or' right? You can still invest in silver, gold and BTC at the same time. nice article though, upvoted.

Thanks attalis! Buying both vigorously seems to work pretty good ;)

I am really on the line with bitcoin. I want to buy some but its such a pain, i have been trying to buy £100 worth as a tester to see how the process works. Its really a pain, i have signed up to a few exchanges but the documents and time it takes to sort everything out is boring me. I bought and lost bitcoin with mtGox and have been trigger shy since. Great post buddy, pics are fab as well.

Thanks for comment UK. One way to go re: bitcoin would be to just get a btc wallet from the app store or from google play (whichever device you use) and go and find a btc atm. Presto! Signing up with exchanges can be a pain...

I signed upto https://bittylicious.com/trade/BQ3KEZ9PY and did the tranfer direct from there were speedy bank transfer. 2 tranasactions done in around 30mins each. Just added around 170 to my steempower so i am playing around with that and seeing what advantages it has if any. So,,, for now, i am happy because i have found a verly simple way for me to instantly buy bitcoin

Sweet! Try and figure out a "paper wallet" for max security and for holding long-term

bitaddress.org is a good one...

Cheers!

I have a 1oz 2013 .999 silver bitcoin with active QR for storing :)

As long as you control the private key, and no one else has ever "seen" it you have a very cool storage facility ;)

You are a fool for trading fake internet money for those old dirty metals. Stack on!

Haha! I knew someone would berate my choices!
But thaz okay, sometimes the right thing is not the money maker...

Nice pick ups man, makes perfect sense to sell high and buy low.

Brick by brick man!

Cheers!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

...More on the way bro!