You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upgrading nuclear and medical waste to dark matter detectors

in #steemstem5 years ago

Hi @lemouth,

Here I'm again reading about dark matter. Its elusive nature is what fascinates me most of all. So, learning about the steps that are being made towards its detection is rather intriguing for me now :)

I like how you presented this new method of "resurrecting" nuclear compounds through dark matter, as a means to detect it (?). It was straight-forward and straight to the point. It makes the read for someone like me quite exciting actually.

I also went through your comment section, which led me to another post of yours that, in fact, gave me an idea of the whole motivation behind the search for dark matter. This has made/will make my readings of materials about this topic much more meaningful :)

Thank you.
Have a nice afternoon!

Sort:  

As we discussed earlier (in one of your posts or mine, I don't remember), I am now trying to make shorter posts, easier to read with much less details (questions on the details can always come in the comments, where I am glad to give more information). I am happy if you liked this post and if it was clear (enough). :)

I like how you presented this new method of "resurrecting" nuclear compounds through dark matter, as a means to detect it (?).

You can remove the question mark from your sentence. This is the exact idea.

To rephrase and summarise the post a little: One should take all these pieces of nuclear waste, put them together so that we will have a large amount of matter living in an excited state and staying excited (because those pieces of waste have a very long lifetime). If a stealthy dark matter particle comes around, the excited waste gets a mean to de-excite (thank you dark matter!) by transferring its energy to dark matter. As a result, dark matter is now more energetic and the experiments targeting it have can detect it more easily.

Enjoy your day as well!