You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Time for STEM to Have its Own Home on Steem: Announcing steemstem.io

[Well I made a separate comment and deleted it to repost here:]

Oh boy!

I'll skip the flattery and proceed to the constructive criticism! I always use steemit on a laptop, never on a phone. I think it would look better if the top part (header) of the screen were more substantial somehow. The steemstem logo could use some enlarging, and the promoted post section could have smaller headings, or something that won't obstruct the images so much. I like how the posts below the promoted posts look, for instance. Also something to more clearly set apart the promoted section from the posts below, cos as it is it looks like just a different arrangement of the same thing, horizontally vs vertically.

Other than that it looks great to me!

Sort:  

Awesome, thanks. I've been nailing down the aesthetics the whole time so I appreciate some more opinions. I will add this to the list and see what we can do in the coming weeks. We already have in mind some of the things you mentioned so you'll be seeing some changes fairly soon, I suspect

I've just read agmoore's new post on steemstem.io and I must say it looks gorgeous there! Very professional and stylish. The steemit version seems amateurish by comparison. I'll definitely be doing my reading there!

Having said that, a few observations and possible bugs:

I was looking at the comment section for a bit before I understood how to comment and how comments are grouped. The continuous border line gives the impression that it's a single comment, and the 'reply' nested within it makes you think you're replying to a specific comment rather than the post.

The 'follow' (the author) button was a teeny bit late to respond.

Are the comments deliberately shown in the order in which they were made rather than the voted amount?

I can't vote on the comments! ... No wait, I can. But my cursor doesn't change when I hover over the heart, so I didn't realize I could.

When I hover over the 'reply' button (reply to post, not reply to comment) the cursor changes to a typing tool.

When I voted on a comment, my vote didn't show until I refreshed the page.

The quote signs in the quotes, at least in the post itself, would be better-looking if they were bigger and if the second quote mark was placed at the end of the last line.

It may be just habit, but I have an easier time reading and responding to comments on steemit. Maybe it's a size thing again, maybe the comment section could be made a bit larger.

I checked out the posting interface. I clicked the button that expands it to the whole screen, and then didn't see any button to go back!

Btw I'm using the Brave browser.

Thanks for this second feedback. We have added everything to the list (OK most of it was already on it :p).

Note that the comment ordering thing will probably lead to two options for the user: ordered by value and by date.

Once again, thanks for this very detailed feedback. I cannot when those will be tackled, but they will be at some point ^^

A vote for poor mobbs for having to actually implement the constructive criticisms.
Beers are on me when we first meet!

True. It's easy to just look at it and sense that something is vaguely imperfect, than to actually come up with design ideas on how to fix it and implement them.

I was checking out https://news.bitcoin.com/ last night and I thought it was a good example of how they get it right (though I like the lower section of Steemstem.io more). But look at how they made everything in the top section bigger. Basically it's the same except the color palette and size.

It's not criticism, it's constructive feedback. You're a beta tester and we will have to all look long and hard for every minute thing we can find wrong, improve, change etc.

If we really want to change how science is discussed on the internet this beta release is the first step of a marathon run. However at least the race has begun.

Thanks for this constructive comment! Anything constructive is welcome! Always! In other words, any remark stemming from the community will be seriously discussed for v0.2.

Thanks!