Electric Lawnmower and Trimmer Tested: Grass and Weeds Fucking ANNIHILATED

in #steemstem6 years ago

I really allowed it to get bad, too. For weeks I put off buying the mower, searching for the perfect deal on Craigslist. Eventually I just gave up because the lawn had to be mowed and I was out of time. Here's a strip between the lawn and the road that I haven't mowed:

But then I won't be doing the mowing, since I paid for the mower, the trimmer, and most recently a blower (something I didn't realize I would need until I saw the sheer amount of clippings spewed onto the sidewalk and street). A roomie of mine has volunteered, apparently he enjoys doing it. I'm happy to let him.

I bought the blower online without a battery, as I already have two. Even the 2 amp hour batteries are around $80, and the two I have are both 5 amp hour. I'm unsure how the mower and trimmer didn't cost more than they did in light of this, but then again both were on sale.

I learned a great deal while testing these things. For example the blue button on the bottom of the trimmer hub, when bumped, will automatically feed out more nylon cord to replace what is lost to wear and tear. I wish I'd known that before I opened it up, thinking I had to advance the cord manually.

Here's the spool of nylon cord inside. Not understanding the bump advance mechanism, I tried to do it manually and then couldn't get the cap back on until I read the instructions. Lesson learned, I ought to read the instructions beforehand.

It also has a blade built in so that as you advance the cord, it will be cut down to the correct length automatically. I'm impressed by such thoughtful design, but most of all by the cord auto-advance mechanism. I didn't know that was a thing.

How powerful are they? Surprisingly, very powerful. I don't know what I expected. The mower chewed straight through that thick, tall grass without missing a beat. I guess I assumed I would need to go 80 volt for that kind of performance. I'm glad that's not the case.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
I have the same item which is working by Petrol as the power source! But seem like this battery version also doing great! World is moving faster to the eco-friend sources!

Cheers~

How powerful are they? Surprisingly, very powerful
I think I should get one, but it costs a lot, the mechanical one only costs 23$ and there are health benifits of it too. But this one is quite easy to operate and not much calories are wasted.

So the moewing machine machine started magic for you. The more you used the machine the more future you will know. Glad to know that machine performance is outstanding and you are happy with it. Keep sharing @alexbeyman

Nice one, am sure your lawn must be like a crew cut right now. In my side of town must people still use cutlass to get the grass and weed out of the way. Its a very hard job but thats what keeps some people fed

Alex - It's a weird experience... The grasses were cut in small pieces... I think you have to spend more hours to wash the equipment after you used it...

+W+

You just annihilated the piece of grass.

The nylon cord mover really does a great job.....

Man, this would be so easy to work with.
I've to put a lot of work for the mechanical mower. But that gives me the exercise I badly need every once in a while
So it's not all bad

What! auto-advance cable mechanism! Apparently there is a sophisticated lawn mower that. Good tool @alexbeyman. Hope you can master it entirely.

Yeah, electric works a lot better than gas, because it just keeps chugging along. Electric just heats up, it doesn't stall like gas does.

This makes me wonder if I could jerry rig a motor cooling loop out of copper tubing and an aquarium pump.

"In other news today. A local man was electrocuted while mowing his lawn. Apparently, he had rigged up a cooling system for his electric lawn mower with copper tubing and an aquarium pump."

"You gotta be careful when dealing with electricity, Kelly, or you'll be sleeping with the fishes!"

"Hahaha!"

It is quite satisfying destroying the grass but it sucks when you realise you have to clean it off afterwards.. :/

Yeah, the blower is in the mail. What a pain having a lawn is.

Hi alex
i told u it was fun to use so theres your buddy asking for it ^^
oh batteries are around $80 everythings just d#"$ expensive
cheers o/

You should fix it immediately @alexbeyman. An alex will not be defeated by a lawn mower. Live alex ....

Sometimes we often assume everything is too simple until we get stuck at one point and again have to read the instructions. A valuable experience @alexbeyman.

I have the Ryobi Version of the 40V string trimmer. If the trimmer has a split and a button on the middle of the shaft it will be compatible with all gas string trimmer attachments.

Mine handles a brush blade, pole saw and the better craftsman string head from my old gas one.

I think I have 3 gas trimmers dead in the shed with various problems. ( I go through one about every 2 years before they have fuel related issues.

I would love to have a battery mower but 2 acres at this current house and 4 at the new one would never work as I would be pushing for days...

I know that thing is sexy. However I cant justify $2600 on a lawnmower at the moment. I think my wife would run me over with it. :)

Very nice! Speaking of which, I need to get myself a mower, because the thought of forking over $45 every two weeks to have someone do it for me makes my wallet hurt. I'm sure it would cost more up front, but it'll pay for itself in no time.

I'm also thinking of buying these things. I just haven't decided if I want electric, battery or gas powered tools. Batteries might be the simplest option.

JAJAJAAJAJA.
Y pensar que yo lo hago manual.
Espero poder comprar uno así en un futuro no muy lejano.
Saludos y Gracias

As you said they are very powerful probably more powerful than the mechanical ones, I think it's a must buy item. Great work mowing though

I hope your trimmer will last. About two years ago I bought black & decker 24V battery powered trimmer. It didn’t last one season. The battery gave up. I couldn’t even buy new battery since they completely change the mechanism of new product. I don’t recommend this company at all. Eventually, I bought electric cord powered trimmer. It’s strong and it works.

We are used to using something like this alex. It's just not using battery but gasoline.
rumputrejekiku.jpg
But be careful, sometimes the foot becomes a victim.

i learned a great deal while testing these things

you are already better at handling these things
within some days you will be aware of all the technology behind this mower

If this is usually the first mistake that the person commits, of not reading the instructions or the manual at the time of operating a device, many times it even loses the guarantee for the misuse or bad assembly of the parts, which in some Cases are made of plastic and tend to break when not placed in the correct position.

Man you don't mess around! So awesome that it is working hard core!!!

Be careful and don't cut your leg off or your giant penis (Even worse).
At least tie it with on your belt so it won't distract you while cutting the grass.

Bro @ alex. I want to see the work of the machine. photo or vidio.

Hello dear thanks jesus i am a lady cuz it look hard to manage. I would be like walking side to side doing nothing. At least it look like a baby car seat. I am having a baby in 2 months so i need to get on practice.

Good also this tool, can be used easily and practically, electricity consumption or battery efficient. Furthermore it does not take too much space in terms of storage.

LOL!

Not in a bad way! I have both a Bosch trimmer which cuts through hip length grass and a lawnmower with metal cutters which cuts through finger thick plants with ease. I admit that sometimes I don't cut the grass in time, but in my defense it's behind my fence so nobody sees the "jungle" :D