You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visiting CERN, an insider's perspective

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Amazing work. Maybe in a different dimension I am working there, but in this one I had bad physics teachers that didn't instill me any interest at the time. I got interested in IT and then I got sucked in by the Aviation Industry. Now I am writing about Space Mechanics and often find myself thinking at the other dimensions of me doing more applied or theoretical work in physics. I was there before it was opened, when they had posters all around lake Leman. I wanted to follow you but I was already following you, hoping to read more about the experiments, even after they will close LHC. Cheers!

Sort:  

Happy to hear you like the post! We will start running again this spring, and fun results are coming out all the time. Once I've gone over the basics I will start writing about the physics results we make public, up to now I have not gotten to that.

And yes, that poster exhibit on Lac Leman was really great, I enjoyed it too. It was around the corner from where I lived when in Geneva and I would purposefully take the (slightly) longer route to work so I could check out the photos in the morning, they have so much depth!

You are blessed with that country, I explored it in lengh, from St. Gallen to Geneva and from Basel close to Interlaken. Couldn't get to Murren but maybe this year. Can't hope to exhaust Switzerland in a few weeks :) So expensive but totally worth it. Cheers and a great weekend!