You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing: Curiosity Science Contest (Rewards For Good Responses)

in #steemstem7 years ago

Yay! I found some science! ⚡️

This contest is great! I actually read a few entries before finding this.

So... to be perfectly honest, I was looking for some sciencey-folk because of my most recent post.

I've been wondering why the ice in my ice trays have sporadically been growing up.

I've looked it up with no luck. I thought I'd try here and see if anyone can shed any light.

There's a very clear picture in my post of the most recent offender.😲

Thanks for taking a gander (if ya do). 🤞 Fingers crossed 🤞 you'll have an educated guess.

🤓Carrie

Growing Up: The Little Ice Cube That Could

Sort:  

Moments after I commented this, someone gave me a hint: spike. Lol! I never used that word to search...😐

It's quite simple .. when water is cooled, ice formation starts from outward to inward, meaning ice formation starts from the surface of water and goes inward. If there is any hole present in the outermost layer, the water is pushed out. As the water is pushed out , it freezes immediately and forms a spike.


Thanks for stopping by :)