You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Example Of Boring STEM Content: A Potato Lightbulb

in #steemstem6 years ago

Point taken!
Even though the post has a nice structure that is actually pleasant to read, it lacks as you say the kind of content that can be read here.
It is like revising the experiments we did back in high school.
It needs the essence of #steemSTEM if I may say? Hahaha

Sort:  

Its about the interesting-ness of the post. Conceptually this could be made more interesting. Say I actually put together my own step by step set of videos/gifs of how to assemble the battery... Maybe that would help bring some originality. Perhaps I then went on to see what sort of crazy things I could power with potato batteries linked in series, that might also help. Still other creativity is needed. This basic post is what it is, a boring rehash of very very basic information which is readily available elsewhere on the internet, it brings nothing to the table, no originality, no new content, nothing we cant see done better elsewhere.

My problem then would be that I end up cluttering everything with GIFs and pictures lol
But it is true, unless we add something new to the community, it will feel that it is writing stripped-down versions of research articles (or magazines?).
We say in Spanish "añadir algo de tu cosecha". Literally means "adding something from your farm". I think you can see the metaphor :D

Stripped down versions of technical papers is good. Stripped down versions of wikipedia entries, not good.