You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Field encounters: on the trail of the Elephant Shrew (original footage)

in #steemstem6 years ago

You know I sit and watch Planet Earth 1/2 like a billion times and the entire time I'm thinking "geez how long must have the videographer had to sit there, in total silent stillness, just to get that shot?" and I know that the answer is painful. Congrats on getting your first shot of these little guys, hopefully it's not the last!

(they are speedy little buggers, aren't they!??)

Sort:  

Hey @derosnec, thanks for dropping by ;). It is definitely a challenge, and I'm hoping the next ones will be better - I saw one of these guys sticking out its tongue and it was incredible to watch! Literally nearly as long as his body. Unfortunately, he did it in that sheltered crevice so no luck getting it on camera, as it was too dark.

At any rate, I'll be taking every opportunity to try and film these guys some more, along with a few of the other interesting things we see out here sometimes such as boomslang (haemotoxic snake) and klipspringers (a really cute little rock jumping antelope).

As for the planet earth guys, yeah, I really admire their tenacity. I remember watching the discussion with the guy who filmed snow leopards and he literally just sat in a hide, freezing away for months. That's some dedication!

Tell me about it!!! Hope you catch some great footage :D So cute!!