You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why i am growing a sustainable alternative to leather in my closet

in #steemstem6 years ago

I enjoy meat as well, don't get me wrong :) And i love a quality leather product, it's an amazing material, i own both gloves, jackets and bags made from it. I even work with it on a hobby plan, and it is a really nice material. And i agree, fake leather sucks, and i would rather not use it at all, than to use artificial leather.

I just see some issues in the production of some leather products, namely those who have been chrome tanned, which i would like to adress, nothing more. I don't think anything will ever beat high quality vegetable tanned leather, which has an awesome smell, and ages beautifully, but i am not really trying to do that :)
In the end, i'm just toying the idea of bringing textile production back home, sorta like we saw with 3d printing. In any case, it is pretty fun to experiment with