You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Schistosomiasis; An Overview of a Neglected Tropical Disease

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Sorry, I'm late to class....as usual. 😁

It a very lovely and insightful read, asides the fact that you had to use my name, Peter! 😈

Schistosomiaisis is possibly an underrated tropical disease, evident by the fact that even the drug of choice, praziquantel, is something you hardly find in hospitals or community pharmacist. It's often also misdiagnosed, and victims are placed on repeated doses of antibiotics for typhoid fever.

A saving grace, however, is that the artemisinins are also very effective against this flukes. So while treating malaria, you may subconsciously be treating schistosomiasis. So much for the holidays @greenrun is thankful for.

Sort:  
A saving grace, however, is that the artemisinins are also very effective against this flukes. So while treating malaria, you may subconsciously be treating schistosomiasis.
Thank you for this insightful addition. I agree with this!
@gentencored in short, you are too much, chop kiss

Those days the drugs of choice is chloroquine. I dunno if it contains the artemisinins. I guess it was days of monotherapy ☺️

Thank God those days are long gone. I couldn't tolerate that drug. Chloroquine is a different molecule than the artemisinins. Artesunate (found in Combisunate), artemether (in Lumartem) and dihydroartemisinin (in waipa) belong to the artemisinin family.

Fortunately for me, I was not prone to the chloroquine's itchiness.

Lol....you be baba na.