You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A posthumous memo by Stephen Hawking: towards a super collider in China (or at CERN?)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Like someone said, almost everything is made in China. That is easy to see why that could be true. They have cheap labour. They have the one of the world's most technologically advanced workforce. I understand the need for continuity if it was done in CERN rather than China. But the economics of it may leave China the winner in this bid. Hopefully they'd finish it in our lifetime (if they get to build it) and we see the result of the experiment.
For the sake of the scientific opportunities I can only hope it gets done at CERN.

Sort:  

They have the workforce, but the technology people are mostly Europeans and Americans. Therefore, things are not that clear. In terms of funding, a single country cannot cope with such a project. One needs contributions from many countries, which is already in place at CERN.

I personally hope to have it happening. The location does not really matter. And as said in my answer to the comment of @gentleshaid, there are enough project to reasonably have one in China (the electron-positron version of the collider) and one at CERN (the proton-proton version of it). On the other hand, having two big collider projects... I don't know whether this is realistic.

For the moment, the only certainty is that things are unclear.

This answers all my questions.

Cool! :)

what do you mean about 'for the sake of scientific opportunities'? Perhaps I will be less inquisitive if you say for consolidation sake

Consolidation helps the scientific opportunity.

The scientific opportunities are the same. They are connected to the machine that is the same in both cases. It is more a matter of politics, culture and economy, as said elsewhere.

I am not so sure CERN needs to be consolidated. Can you please extent this comment a little bit. I am no really sure to see what you mean.

What I guess he means by that is the seamless running of the project since it'd be close.

By consolidation, I mean building on what is already established

Ah ok, you meant extending the existing facilities. Because in terms of people, I am not sure this will change anything.