You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: computer networking and inter-connectivity Tutorial 2- Network Types, Technologies And Network Security

in #steemstem6 years ago

A very nice response but I have a little correction to make, address resolution protocol is used by a host within a LAN to identify the MAC address. Hence, it already knows the IP address, so only the MAC address is returned after a successful ARP. Also you answered my question from a layer 7 perspective but I was expecting you to answer the question from a layer 3 to layer 1 perspective, though your answer is purely valid and helpful. Thanks buddy.

Sort:  

Thanks buddy..in my response I quoted "in respect to the ip address". and to correct you too, In the format of arp, when replying, the ip address and the MAC is sent back to the host together. if you need the layer 1 to 3, then you can consider..port security, dynamic arp inspection and T-Arp as well. in additiion, fortigate does not only work in layer 7, because its configuration is done exactly like when configuring a router or a switch as it has its own CLI. you can check it out if your are interested

The address resolution protocol is a broadcast that says "hey buddies, I have this layer 3 address, does anyone of you bear the same address?" If any host has such ip address, it responds with "hey man, I heard someone is looking for my physical address, take, this is it". Of course every frame has source and destination field but that's not part of the response of an arp like you stated. Also I said the information you provided was would be useful to me. Thanks anyways