You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sex and the Sexes: Talking Past Each Other

in #steemstem5 years ago

I got to here:

Much of human communication depends on language. I doubt this will be an aha moment for anyone, but that claim helps to understand why words being coded differently in male and female brains might lead to misunderstanding and sometimes conflict. It's not an accident that when God sought to sow conflict among peoples who were building the Tower of Babel in order to reach heaven, his first idea was to make them speak different languages.

and i thought to myself, "why so much god reference?"

stay tuned for more feedback...

Sort:  

Yeah I know, I was wondering the same thing 😄

Maybe cos I happen to know about that subject so my mind creates examples and analogies out of that area. Dunno!

it fizzled out at that or shortly after that point so i guess it was a moot point. i'm more interested in your conclusion or personal opinion (based on your research and experience) that than the research presented.

my take is that instinct and evolution, have and are, causing and changing -all respectively- how the sexes interact and interpret one another. more or less.

Well culture surely plays a role, but not without getting permit from biology first. Personal experience and science tells me that the meanings of words differ for each individual, and between groups of people like different generations and sexes.