Sort:  

If we can find people to lead a sub community, and their is sufficient interest from that community, then I expect us to continue to expand the languages that we support. Our goal is making a platform upon which STEM communication can fluorish and this means allowing and facilitating content creation in which ever languages creators feel comfortable and audiences want to read.

I think that's a long winded answer to say yes we would love to support Mandarin or cantonese content. A STEM-cn sub community would be awesome to have IMO. Just need to find motivated individuals to spearhead that sort of effort.

Great plan. Looking forward for that. I’m sure there’re many CN Steemians in the academic field.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Since I live in China, it is certainly of interest to me to bring a community in with us, but it'll be quite a challenge to bring outsiders in, that I don't yet have the time to do it entirely by myself =)

Yet

As JTM said, we are more than open to any new sub-community. However, we cannot handle them ourselves, especially if we do not speak/understand the language. All the existing language subcommunities were born from people who mastered the corresponding languages who decided to join steemstem and run their own sub-project. We hope in a (not too far) future, more languages will be supported.

Yeah, I understand, with Steem growing and SMT coming out, I guess it will be easier to have more subcommunities.

At least the infrastructure is there and well working. This makes things easier than restarting from scratch :)