You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Example Of Boring STEM Content: A Potato Lightbulb

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Why would they be looking on steem for this content? The likleyhood of that is the same as googling for it. There are hundreds of YouTube videos on this topic that are far more interesting than this post. In fact the topic is covered in many middle school/ high school science classes. Undoubdetly those teachers also do a finer job than this little blurb of rehashed garbage.

We give content like this 20/20 all the time, but IMO, this content doesn't really even deserve 5/5. :D

I'm not going to give it anything, out of principle. Because I think it sucks.

Sort:  

Well I will put it this way. I had forgotten about the chemistry you have put here. In all likelihood I would have not searched Google unless I need it. But the mere fact that I follow you and steemstem gets this content to my home feed and I read it. Now let's say you didn't write that Bible reference and said how boring it is, I won't have gone past first paragraph. I don't think what I enjoyed revising about batteries in your articles is its redundancy of what I could find. What a enjoyed is the fact that you made me read things I already knew are going to be redundant. Though yeah if it was a paper I would have been like what crap. But I think blogs can also be about boring shit in interesting way. Though yeah I agree that unless they are adding value to science they don't deserve high votes.