You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A mirror hidden world to get a grip on dark matter

in #steemstem5 years ago

You are then very welcome ;)

a mirror world, where the weak footprint of dark matter might be detected.

Strictly speaking, it is just a single universe divided in two sectors that barely speak with each other. The 'barely' means that there are some (fainted) talkings, which opens the door to probing the hidden sector.

I know that is not the purpose of your essay, but you have to see the beauty in this--I know you do, because the subject excites you. That excitement is contagious.

This is exactly the reason why I write about all of this. Trying to unveil some excitation into the reader towards science (and particule physics in particular), and share mine ^^

Sort:  

Hi @lemouth,
I think I do get it about both occupying the same "world". As I read, in the back of my mind was the thought of the notion of the doppleganger--I know that's not physics, but in a way it's a visceral understanding of the particle physics concept of mirror worlds. Dopplegangers occupy the same universe but are mirror images of each other.

Particle physicists operate in a sphere most of us do not understand very well, and yet you deal with the physical reality in which we all exist. So, what you do may seem remote, but it's not--no more than the planets and sun were for Galileo and his contemporaries.
I go on like this (forgive me) because I do find your work exciting. Einstein's Theory of Relativity affected the way we view ourselves in the universe. It changed not just science, but literature, philosophy, history. What you do now...if dark matter and mirror world's exist...how will that change the way in which we view our place in the universe? Our view of 'reality'?

You see you have captured my imagination--the hazard of dealing with someone who is used to thinking in symbols.

Thanks for sharing a fascinating perspective on the reality we all share.

We can actually see this as a dopplegagner. In fact, you just confirmed the topic of my next post (unless my image is delivered): mirror stars! But you probably will have to wait until next week... For now, I only know what I will talk about and I still need to start filling the empty file in :D

I hope this will push your imagination further :)

I just can't resist.

Startrek parallel universe. Here are the Doppelgänger! :D