You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About my own research: gluons, gluinos and sgluons are not weird creatures from Harry Potter

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

The theory lectures were very hard, especially because the level of the students was extremely spread. They ask an incredible number of questions, which was amazing too me. They are by far not shy.

The best was we organized a tutorial session where all the students managed to simulate LHC collisions. They didn't want to leave the room, even those not related to particle physics :)

Sort:  

Yes, it is quite amazing, the willing to learn of these young girls and guys! I can compare this to my own students here. I remind them sometimes the luck they have to have all this knowledge offered to them on a silver plate.

In terms of spread, I agree too. The class in Nigeria is really spread out in terms of age group (13-17, learning the same things). I also found interesting that the brightest students are often quite young, but that's probably a faulty correlation due to the small sample...

I am glad you had such a great time!

Yes, we must be careful with statistics. Especially in such a school where the selection has been made including many diversity criteria (sometimes predominant).