You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A mirror hidden world to get a grip on dark matter

in #steemstem5 years ago

I am sure you will love one of the comment I made above, to @agmoore2: my next post will probably be on the same topic, addressing mirror stars. Can you get even wilder? We will know next week :)

To answer your question, the detection depends on mirror particles being able to interact with 'normal' particles. This comes from the connections between the two worlds. One of these connection relies on electromagnetism and dark electromagnetism mixing a little bit with each other. Whilst there is no way out theoretically, this mixing is extremely suppressed to keep standard electromagnetism almost untouched (because we didn't see anything so far). However, when billions of particles happen, a standard interaction may just be dark. The key is that we really need the billions here because we are dealing with super rare phenomena.

The other connection are related to the Higgs bosons (even harder to detect than the mixing of the two electromagnetisms) and gravity (impossible to see at the level of fundamental particles).

Does it clarify?

Sort:  

That I understood. I think my question was from much more naive thinking. I think I should read a bit more on how particle detectors work. What I was wondering is about what if we are seeing them because we mistake them for normal particles. Like on the two axes in the above figure, there are two properties that can be measured by LUX, right. I am assuming these properties may depend upon how particle interacts with say EM field in the detector, it's trajectory, charge, mass and those things. Now if we assume mirror electron had same charge and mass as normal electron but only difference being that it interact just with mirror EM force. So is there a chance that if we do see a mirror electron once in a while we may mistake it as normal electron. But again my thinking is based on zero knowledge about the particle detection and I am just thinking in wrong direction. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

So is there a chance that if we do see a mirror electron once in a while we may mistake it as normal electron.

This is part of the background, indeed. I recall that the background expectation is the observed distribution (there is no signal).

In the case of a signal, we should observe a global difference in the distribution of the datapoint. We should get the background (the data points, I recall) plus what we can get from the solid contours. In other words, we have enough discriminating power.

I think that now I answer the question (otherwise, please come back again to me :D )