THE FINAL STAGE: Please take this 3-second poll!

in #steemstem4 years ago

For the last week or so I've been fighting for my life to find a new identity for SteemSTEM that I feel fits certain criteria, while at the same time has the right availability, price, legal freedoms, connotations and so forth.

Unfortunately, due to these factors and more, some names I enjoyed had to be put aside (sorry, BoatymcBoatFace), but there are about 3 I genuinely like nonetheless.

The decision is ultimately not mine, however. Well, I guess it kind of is, but I would feel MUCH more comfortable if we had some public input so I don't need to depend on my own self-doubt to get me through.

So please spend a couple of seconds choosing the one from the shortlist you like. Some made it from some very generous brains out there, others came up in Discord and one purely from my own Brain.

If you feel there is nothing but trash, please do make further suggestions in the comments, as the poll results are not final, I just used that word for clickbait purposes.

Cheers!

strawpoll.me/19591228/r

Sort:  

Vote cast, excellent participation methodology.

How about something relating STEM and blockchain or decentralization?

It's too limiting to outsiders. From experience, the second you mention blockchain-related terms, people run. People who, moments before, may have said its an excellent idea. Add those words and they run. It's not real money, must be a scam, etc.

Plus, if we ever expand in a way that isn't entirely blockchain-sourced, it wouldn't make sense

I don't see why naming is so important, but I vote for STEMist, the only one out of the three that doesn't end in ist is mathematician.

Also a simple UI would be great, I kind of hate side bars and boxes everywhere.

Also STEMizen from citizen is the first thing that came to mind, but that's because I saw STEM everywhere.

But I'm adding rather than focusing, I don't like 80% of the poll names, so systemic is the most likely I'd pick, it sounds interesting and related to the topic and not related to the technology.

I don't like 80% of the poll names,

The results come down to 4 of them, 3 of which I like but I agree some were some throw-away names at least to some degree.

The reason I don't want something like 'stemizen' or 'stemist' is because, taken as a word, is not a very recogniseable keyword when it comes to SEO or marketing at all.

Something like Stem Sight, or even VeroSpace have extremely popular search terms built in. This is important to not get trapped in the tunnel vision of a small community blockchain.

Portmanteau brands can work, IF they have the marketing power to make that name like a household name. Otherwise, people are just going to frown and be like 'wtf is that?'.

This is also the downside of 'verospace', however, verospace is more liberating than any names with 'stem', since our goals are broader than catering to simply the subjects associated with STEM. We also curate economics, history, architecture and so forth.

So, each name in the top 3 have their pros and cons, but since it's been close to two weeks I've been trying to think of this, I don't imagine there's anything better that suits the marketing, ease-of-remembrance, easy to say/type whilst also being available and affordable.

Names, in short, are very important! There wouldn't be a multi-billion dollar industry dedicated to it, if it wasn't

This post has been voted on by the HiveSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie and @minnowbooster.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness @stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider using the stem.openhive.network app and including @steemstem as a beneficiary of this post. This could yield a stronger support.