You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GMO food isn't going to make your food allergies worse, but could make them better.

in #steemstem6 years ago

Thank you for this! Now I have a bunch of tabs open again, lol.

Just like the punchy slogan says, "Peanuts don't kill people. IgE mediated mast cell releases of histamine leading to adverse reactions kill people."

That was totally a slogan up on the wall when I worked at National Jewish Health (a hospital famous for treating allergies among other things, but I didn't work in the allergy department). ;)

Consider that an intelligent, motivated member of the public can't find information they need, even though the relevant research was probably supported by their tax dollars and they were stymied even when taking pains beyond what a normal citizen would to use legal methods to circumvent journal paywalls. Make of that what you may.

Admittedly I haven't looked in a long time. I think I did when I first had all the testing done and was learning how to avoid the myriad allergens and trying to figure out ones that were NOT on the typical tests. For instance, I drink a protein shake every morning, right? I had switched over to a brand that was pretty basic in order to try and avoid allergens, and I was still having a reaction. I was stymied. Upon googling, I came across some article that said, if you're allergic to ragweed (I am), you might (but not necessarily) be allergic to stevia (which was in the protein shake). So I went and got the from-scratch ingredients so that what I was drinking was the same except I just replaced the stevia that was in the pre-mix with regular cane sugar, and lo: no more reaction every morning. So apparently, stevia, but what doctor is going to test for that? @.@

There are non-protein molecules which can cause allergic and pseudo-allergy reactions, like codeine, nickel, and penicillin.

Yep, I'm allergic to the -cillins and nickel is my arch nemesis. I have to follow the low-nickel diet (which eliminates a ton of foods), or I have a permanent rash. Bah!

Anyway, thanks for the balanced look at this, allowing me to revisit and find more info than when I tried before!

Sort:  

Hey @phoenixwren
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

You could still go for a protein shake without any sweeteners. I am not a heavy user of proteins but when I do, I look for those having the least in them.
Just whey if possible :D

Cane sugar isn't a problem for me. And it would taste horrid without it, the way I make shakes. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android